21st RHTYSC Annual Awards

Date Published: 
Guyana Chronicle
Calvin Roberts

... 2011/12 named benefit year for Hicks

MIDDLE-order batsman Jason Sinclair was on Sunday named the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club’s (RHTY&SC) Player-of-the-Year when that organisation hosted its 21st Annual Awards ceremony at the J. C Chandisingh Secondary School in Rose Hall Town, Berbice.

2011/2012 was dedicated as the benefit year for Delbert Hicks, even as national middle order batsman Assad Fudadin, who led Guyana in this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional four-day tournament, concluded his by receiving the final instalment of $20 000 at Sunday’s ceremony.

Hicks received a medallion with a diamond encrusted inside worth US$400 compliments of King’s Jewellery World, one trophy and $20 000, while a donation of four trophies and $100 000 was made to the Berbice Volleyball Federation (BVF).

The 26-year-old Sinclair received numerous gifts as spoils for his nomination, amongst them being one gold chain and pendant valued $40 000 compliments of L. Seepersaud Maraj and Sons Jewellery, two cell phones, hampers from both Ansa McAl and NALICO/NAFICO and a coffee maker among others, for a total value of $265 000.

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Ansa McAl Limited Beverley Harper delivered the feature address and in the presence of vice-president of the Guyana Cricket Board Bissoondyal Singh, Chairman of Selectors Claude Raphael and former president of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) Malcolm Peters, lauded the RHTYSC for the exemplary work they have done over the years.

Yours is a success story that everyone in Guyana who is involved in sports should emulate. To succeed one needs commitment and hard work, since nothing comes without hard work, while team work is an important factor and at your club, all those factors are in place, to which I salute you.

Harper expressed much praise on the club’s CEO/Secretary Hilbert Foster, whom she described as a tower of strength, while she applauded him for passing on the mantle of leadership responsibilities onto the younger members of the club.

At times, we need to step aside and give the youths a chance and at the RHTYSC, that is taking place, since Hilbert has entrusted the position of Assistant CEO/Secretary on a young female, who to my mind is handling that office well and I salute you,” said Harper.

An ardent cricket fan herself, Harper took the time to briefly reflect on the glory days of West Indies and Guyana’s cricket and while she said there was not much to reflect on from both entities of late, due to their dismal run in the game, the work of RHTYSC has been a sparkling light at the end of the tunnel.

In his report, Hilbert Foster outlined the numerous achievements of the club, including their completed 121 projects and programmes while three senior male players in skipper Esaun Crandon, Royston Crandon and Assad Fudadin represented Guyana, with Fudadin going on to be named captain of this year’s four-day team.

Four female players in Shemaine Campbelle, Erva Giddings, Melanie Henry and Nikita Toney also represented Guyana, with Campbelle being adjudged the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Female West Indies tourney, while she earned herself a place on the Regional side that won the ICC Women’s T20 title.

The lone triple awardee of this year’s ceremony Shawn Pereira, Parmanand Narine and Dominic Rikhi were the three junior players from RHTYSC who represented Guyana last year, with Pereira having the distinct opportunity of leading the National Under-15 side.

Brief congratulatory speeches were given by Singh, treasurer of the BCB Anil Beharry and representatives from the Rose Hall Town Interim Management Committee (IMC) and Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL) Pepsi brand of drinks.

Beharry urged Fudadin to put the disastrous start to his captaincy career behind him, saying it was a learning experience for the 25-year-old West Indies ‘A’ team left-handed batsman, while he took the opportunity to applaud Devendra Bishoo on his elevation to the West Indies team.

Just recently, Bishoo represented Guyana at the junior level and due to his hard work and commitment, he gained a place on the senior side and now the West Indies team, to which we at the BCB would like to express our heartfelt congratulations.

I would like to take this opportunity to challenge those young cricketers present here today, to use Bishoo as an example if they have it in mind to play at the highest level, but remember to stay in school, as good grades and a perfect attendance record is one criterion the BCB will be looking at, when it comes to selecting the Berbice junior team,” said Beharry.

President of both the BCB and RHTYSC Keith Foster called on the parents and guardians present to help the country’s number one youth and sports club with their ‘Say No to Drugs and Yes to Education’ campaign, by sending their children to school regularly.

The full lists of awardees are:

Brandon Persaud (Under-13 batsman), Daniel Lewis (Under-13 bowler and Cricketer of the Year), Parmanand Narine (Under-15 batsman) Shawn Pereira (Under-15 bowler and Cricketer of the Year), Dominic Rikhi (Pepsi Under-19 batsman) and Lloydel Lewis (Pepsi Under-19 Bowler and Cricketer of the Year).

Collis Cort (Bakewell second division batsman), Pereira (Bakewell second division bowler, Cricketer of the Year and Gizmos and Gadgets first division bowler of the year respectively), Sinclair (Gizmos and Gadgets first division batsman and Cricketer of the Year).

Erva Giddings (Metro Female Player of the Year), Shemaine Campbell (Metro Female Batter and Cricketer of the Year), David Baldeo and Nermala Sewdat (Male and Female Discipline player of the Year).

Rikhi was named the Committed Cricketer of the Year, Jason Anderson and Jamal Jarvis Most Promising and Improved Player respectively, Troy Matheison (Fielder of the Year) with Moonish Singh being voted the Coach and Worker of the Year respectively.

The Most Committed Member for 2010 is Kumar Madray while Patrick Lewis won the Manager of the Year award, with Esaun and Royston Crandon, Fudadin, Campbelle and Giddings being honoured for their selection to the national team, while Fudadin and Campbelle were recognised for representing the West Indies.