Albion Wants Consistency

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

The Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC)/National Milling Company (Namilco)/Bakewell sponsored Champion of Champions 20/20 cricket competition will start on April 21 and climax on May 26.

Proceeds from the competition will go towards purchasing a minibus to assist in the transportation needs of the RHTY&SC.

ANSA McAL Trading is also on board with the RHTY&SC for this tournament, having earned the bar rights.

The tournament will feature eight teams competing in a knockout format with the champion receiving $200,000 – the biggest prize for a champion team in a tournament organised by a club in Berbice.

The runner-up will collect $100,000, while the third and fourth place finishers will pocket $50,000 and $25,000 respectively. The Man of the Match in the final will be $10,000 richer.

Battling for supremacy will be West Berbice, Blairmont, Bermine, Young Warriors, Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets, Port Mourant, Skeldon and Albion.

Guyana Times will profile each team ahead of the highly anticipated competition, which will be played at three venues in the Ancient County, namely, the Skeldon, Port Mourant and Albion grounds. Below is a mini-profile of the Albion team.

The Albion Cricket Club is without doubt one of the premier cricket clubs in the ancient county of Berbice and together with the RHTY&SC, has been dominating cricket at all levels.

Its production of Test players for the West Indies is unmatched in the past few years as it has produce four Test cricketers in Narsingh Deonarine, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul.

Albion is one of the pre-tournament favourites along with Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets and will open their account against Blairmont on April 21 at the Albion ground.

West Indies Test player and ‘A’ team captain Veerasammy Permaul will lead the team whose batting is centered on Deonarine and Chattergoon, the hard hitting Jonathan Foo, Sharaz Ramcharran, Andy Mohan, Veerapen Permaul, Kandasammy Surujnarine and Brian Dookna.

Permaul and Bishoo are also expected to add crucial runs in the middle-order.

The strength of Albion’s success over the years has been the all-spin bowling attack, which at home is almost impossible to tear apart. Permaul, Bishoo and Deonarine will spearhead the attack with support from off-spinners Ramcharran, Balchan Baldeo, David Latchya and left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie- Kanhai.

Albion over the few months has been unlucky in Berbice tournament due to the fact that most of their senior players are usually away on national or international duties, but would be at full strength for this competition and with most of their games been played at home would be the team to beat.

The squad reads: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Veerapen Permaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Jonathan Foo, Devendra Bishoo (Vice-captain), Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, David Latchya, Sharaz Ramcharran, Balchan Baldeo, Andy Mohan, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Shivnarine Shrikishun, Brian Dookna, Joshua Harrichand and Rohan Harripersaud.