Albion Wins Balram Shane Title

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Albion Cricket Club defeated Port Mourant Cricket Club by 80 runs to win the 13th annual Balram Shane Memorial Fundraising match at the Albion Sport Complex on Sunday.

Asked to bat first, Albion were bowled out for 179 in 49.5 overs with national T20 batsman Jonathan Foo leading the way with 67. Foo was supported by David Latchaya, who made an unbeaten 35, Kandasammy Surujnarine, 31, and captain Devendra Bishoo, 12. Harrinarain Chattergoon and captain Yougindra Harrinarain finished with figures of 3 for 37 and 2 for 34 respectively.

Port Mourant CC in reply were bowled out for 99 in 39.2 over. Zamal Khanmade (22) and Mahadeo (29) were the only batsmen that showed any resistance to the Albion CC spin-based attack.

At the simple ceremony, sponsor of the day’s event Deonarine Balram thanked both teams, corporate sponsors and donors  for their contributions over the past 13 years and looks forward for their continued support in years to come.

Secretary of the Albion CC, Vemen Walker stated that events of such nature have helped the club to produced four Test cricketers – Narsingh Deonarine in 2005, Sewnarine Chattergoon in 2008, Devendra Bishoo in 2011 and Veerasammy Permual in 2012.

The competition was won ten times by Albion, twice by Port Mourant while the other was a no result.