Bajans Are Champs

Date Published: 
Trinidad Express
Jewel Brathwaite

Fourth 'Shell' in a row as the Guyanese are crushed



BARBADOS today emerged regional Shell Shield Cricket Champions for the fourth successive year when they crushed Guyana by an innings and 140 runs in their final match at Kensington Oval here, with a day and a half to spare.

Resuming in the hopeless position of 39 for six and needing to score a further 187 to avoid an innings defeat, the Guyanese batsmen offered token resistance before being finally crumbling in just over an hour's play this morning. Final scores in the match: Guyana 136 and 86; Barbados 362 for seven declared. By winning the match, Barbados amassed an unbeatable 30 points and so remained the undisputed champions of Regional cricket.

Hero for Barbados was young pace bowler Malcolm Marshall, whose five wickets for 39 runs gave him a match haul of nine for 64 and a tally of 25 in the tournament. He was ably assisted by speedster colleague Sylvester Clarke, who collected three for 27 runs, and Joel Garner, who picked up one wicket to add to his first innings five. Guyana's captain Stephen Camacho, who is nursing an injured finger did not bat.

The Guyana slide continued this morning when, eight runs after the resumption Keshwar Persaud was caught in the gully off Clarke's bowling for nine, and the score was 47 for seven. Derek Kallicharran, who resumed this morning added 26 runs with Sydney Matthews before the latter, taking evasive action from a fast Marshall delivery, was bowled. Ten runs later Kallicharran, who top-scored, was caught at the wicket also off Marshall's bowling.

The loss meant that for the second year in succession the Guyanese have finished at the bottom of the Shell Shield standings, and this year failed to collect any points. Last year they scored 12 points.


GUYANA first Innings
BARBADOS first Innings 362 (for seven wickets declared)

GUYANA 2nd innings (overnight 39 for 6)
Batsman How out Runs
L. Baichan c Payne b Clarke 2
F. Bacchus c & b Marshall 0
T. Mohammed c & b Clarke 0
M. Harper c Clarke b Marshall 6
S. Shivnarine c Payne b Marshall 4
M. Pydanna c Clarke b Garner 11
A. Persaud c Holford b Clarke 9
S. Matthews b Marshall 13
C Croft not out 6
S. Camacho absent hurt 0
EXTRAS (1w, 6 lb, 9 nb) 16
TOTAL (all out) 86
WICKETS fell at 47, 72, 86
Bowler O M R W
S. Clarke 11 3 27 3
M. Marshall 12.1 0 38 5
J. Garner 2 1 4 1