Bakewell Softball Finals

Date Published: 

Results From preliminary Rounds: | 27 Nov (quarter-finals) | 7 Nov | 23 Oct | 16 Oct | 9 Oct | 2 Oct | 25 Sep | 18 Sep | 11 Sep |

Bakery giant, Bakewell, sponsored nationwide Male & Female Softball competition came to an exciting finish on Sunday last at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue, with three finals. Naeem Naseer, proprietor of Bakewell, General Manager Rajin Ganga and cricket fans, were treated to some exciting matches with the females bringing an end to a tournament deemed successful.

The victorious Mike's Wellwoman team!

Mike’s Wellwoman defeated Trophy Stall Angels by 7 wickets in the 10/10 final. Abeina Parker, Player Of The Match, led Mike’s Wellwoman to the championship trophy and the top cash prize with her undefeated 33. Onika Wallerson made 15. Nicola Leacock took 2 for 13. Wellwoman made 83 for 5 off 8.5 overs. Trophy Stall Angels batted first and made 82 runs for 5 wickets in 10 overs. Monica Seals led with 18 runs. Roxanne De Monich and the captain June Ogle made 12 runs each. Latoya Smith of Mike’s Wellwoman received the Player Of The Series award of $10,000 and a trophy. She took 17 wickets overall.

Regal Seniors captured the masters title in the Over 40 category when they defeated Floodlights by 3 wickets. Lance Adams led Regal Seniors to victory with his impressive 63 runs. Regal Seniors made 173 for 8 off 23.5 overs. Lynden Lyght made 21 and Mahase Chunilall took 3 wickets. In reply Floodlights made 169 for 6 off 25 overs, with Lalta Gainda top scoring with 55 runs and Wayne Jones making 44. Canterbury took 3 wickets. Wayne Jones grabbed the title of Man Of The Series, having the highest score of 102, taking 7 wickets and scored 257 runs overall.

In the Male Open final Regal X1 defeated Herstelling by 7 wickets. For Regal X1’s victory they were presented with a cash prize of $75,000 and a trophy. Herstelling, the losing team collected $25,000 and a trophy. Zulfiqar Alli led his team to victory with an unbeaten 55 runs. Richard Latiff supported with his 14. Mohamed and Krishna Balgobin each took 2 wickets for Regal X1. Herstelling batted first and scored 114 for 9 off 15 overs. Ricky Sergeant made 30 and Dennis Muir 22. Zulfiqar Alli of Regal X1 earned the title of Man of the Match. David Singh of Better Hope took the Player of the Series prizes of cash and trophy. His highest score of 140 and 359 runs scored overall, made him earned the title.

Naeem Naseer Jr. and Rajin Ganga of Bakewell presented prizes to winners and the runner-up teams.

Regal and Regal XI - winners of the Men's Open and Over-40 titles