BCB Awards Ceremony Today

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

West Indies players Veersammy Permaul and Shemaine Campbelle will be the recipient of the Berbice Cricket Board’s Senior Sportsman and Woman-of-the-Year 2012 award when the board stages its sixth annual awards and presentation ceremony this evening at the New Amsterdam Town Hall from 18:30h.

Twenty awards will be presented to outstanding performers for 2012 while former national cricketer Esuan Crandon will be honoured for service to Berbice cricket. Permanent Secretary in the Office of the President, Omar Sheriff will be the guest speaker in the absence of President Donald Ramotar.

Mayor of New Amsterdam Claude Henry, Regional Chairman Permaul Armogan and Member of Parliament Faizal Jaffarally are expected to speak during the event that will include a comprehensive report on Berbice cricket by chairman of the Special Events Committee Hilbert Foster.

Among the other awardees will be Sewnarine Chattergoon (Disciplined Player), Shimron Hetmyer (Under-17 Player of the Year), Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai (Under-19 Player of the Year), Imran Moakan (Umpire of the Year) and Michael Hyles Franco (Coach of the Year).

 The awardees and invitees will also be treated to a cocktail reception after the official programme.