BCB/Scotiabank Academy Monday

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times staff

The sixth annual Berbice Cricket Board/Scotia Bank Academy is set to commence on Monday at the Area H ground, Rose Hall.

Seventy-one promising junior players will participate in the one-week academy under the watchful eyes of coaches Michael Hyles Franco, Winston Smith, Renwick Batson and Albert Smith.

The academy will place emphasis on batting, fielding and physical fitness. Lectures will also be done on: history of cricket, drug abuse, HIV/AIDS, captaincy, Importance of Discipline, Laws of Cricket and the Role of a Sport Ambassador.

The full list of cricketers for the academy: Jason Anderson, Kevon Anderson, Jerome Andrews, Leon Andrews, Kevin Arjune, Balchand Baldeo, Nicholas Cameron, Arif Chan, Enoch Carmichael, Travis Carmichael, Trivette Carmichael, Mohamed Deochand, Mohan Deodat, Steve Deonarine, Suraj Dookhna, Deon Esau, Joseph Giddings, Joshua Gobin, Viendra Gooniah, Grisean Grant, Matthew Hardial, Joshua Harrichand, Keirre Henry, Richard Henry, Hakeem Hinds, Shumor Jack, Jaleel Jafar, Haresh Jaipaul, Jason Johashen, Dillon Joseph, Asif Khan, Kassim Khan, Sayeed Khan, David Latchaya, Daniel Lewis, Clifton Lindie, Kelston Luke, Kyle Michael, Akeem Miller, Jaleel Jackman, Derek Narine, Joseph Nicholson, Ritesh Omrow, Narendra Permaul, Brandon Persaud, Kevendra Persaud, Totaram Rajaram, Sharaz Ramcharran, Parmanand Ramdhan, Kris Ramnarine, Nick Ramsaroop, Rabindranauth Roopchand, Daniel Samaroo, Javid Seecharran, Nicholas Seenarine, Joel Seetaram, Veramootoo Senwansane, Aviskar Sewkarran, Yeshpaul Shewtahal, Junior Sinclair, Kevin Sinclair, Bramdat Singh, Hemchand Singh, Karran Singh, Nial Smith, Rameshwar Somwaru, Adrian Sukhwah, Daniel Thuesday, Sylus Tyndall, Sachin Veerasammy, Randy Wade and Titus Webster.

Players selected by the BCB Junior Selection Committee, headed by Leslie Solomon, and are asked to report to the Area H ground with their cricket gear and to be properly uniformed at 08:30h on Monday.

After the academy the participants will be involved in practice matches.