Beharry is New BCB President

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur News Staff

Anil Beharry was elected the new President of the Berbice Cricket Board when the body held its annual general meeting and elections yesterday at its office in New Amsterdam. Beharry defeated Vickram Seubarran by 22 votes to 16 to take the post.

Dhieranidranauth Somwaru got pass Vemen Walters by a similar margin to grab the First Vice President position, while Qualis Winter was elected the Second Vice President. Winter gained 18 votes to overcome Walters with 15 and David Black five. Walters however claimed the Third Vice President unopposed.

Angela Haniff returned unobstructed as the Secretary, while Vicky Bharosay copped the post of Treasurer unchallenged. Phaffiana Millington and Richardo Bachan are the Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer respectively; both were unopposed.

The clubs present at the meeting were Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club, Port Mourant, Albion, Chesney, Rose Hall Canje, Young Warriors, Mental Hospital, Bermine, Kildonan, Whim National, Mt. Sanai, Police and Blairmont. The associations were West Berbice, Upper Corentyne and Berbice River.

However, the BCB received two letters from the Berbice River CA indicating their representatives (four each) which differ, but after some debate members decided to allow two representatives from each faction of that association to vote.

Speaking after the elections, Beharry thanked the members for their support and said his team is capable to take the game to another level in the county. “Our main objective is to work together for the development of cricket,” he added. Somwaru spoke about the importance of discipline and advised the executive to remain committed to the game.

After congratulating Beharry, Secretary of the Guyana Cricket Board Anand Sanasie in an invited comment said he look forward to working with him for the development of the sport.