Berbice Div 1 T20: First Semi

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

The first semi-final of the Universal DVD First Division T20 cricket competition in Berbice between Group A winner Albion Community Centre and Group B runner-up West Berbice is scheduled for Saturday at the Albion at 13:30h.

After ending on the losing end of their battles with Albion over the years, West Berbice will savour their chances on Saturday against an under-strength opponent. Narsingh Deonarine and Veerasammy Permaul are doing duties in India with the West Indies A team, left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie is with the WI U-19 team against Bangladesh U-19 and Devendra Bishoo is overseas on personal business and will be out of action for Albion.

Their spin attack will be spearheaded by off-spinner Andre Percival, along with Verapen Permaul, Sharaz Ramcharran, David Latchaya and leg-spinner, Avinash Wajib. Their batting will be spearheaded by former West Indies batsman, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Jonathan Foo, Kandasammy Surujnarine, current Guyana wicketkeeper/batsman Anthony Bramble, Ramcharran and Percival.

West Berbice is expected to the field a strong pace bowling attack, led by Guyana quickie Keon Joseph, former West Indies pacer Brandon Bess, former Guyana Under-19 pacer, Roun Johnson, medium fast bowler Wrendel Bobb and medium pacer Keith Fraser.

Also, there will be Berbice off-spinner Krishnadat Ramoo and Andrew Dutchin. In the batting department, Fraser has been their most consistent batsman lately and West Berbice will hope that former Berbice batsman, Arthley Bailey, Dutchin, Raffel Estriado, Sherwin McPherson will come through.

The umpires for the match are Zaheer Moakan and Joseph Simon. The other semi-final between Bermine and Rose Hall Town Farfan and Mendes is scheduled for Sunday at Port Mourant.

Albion Community Centre: Sewnarine Chattergoon (Captain), Kandasammy Surujnarine, Jonathan Foo, Anthony Bramble (wicketkeeper), Andre Percival, Sharaz Ramcharran, David Latchaya, Balchand Baldeo, Verapen Permaul, Avinash Wajib, Satesh Dwarka, Adrian Sukhra, Shivnarine Shirkissoon, Narendra Permaul; Manager – Muthuswami Permaul

West Berbice: Krishnadat Ramoo (Captain), Keon Joseph, Wrendel Bobb, Brandon Bess, Roun Johnson, Andrew Dutchin, Keith Fraser, Raffel Estriado, Artley Bailey, Quacy McPherson (wicketkeeper), Sherwin McPherson, Christopher Bissoon, Grisean Grant, Rajbance Hemraj; Manager- David Black