Bermine Wins Div1 T20

Date Published: 
Guyana Chronicle
Guyana Chronicle Staff

Having ousted the defending champions Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets (RHTGG) in their semifinal match-up two Sundays ago, Bermine showed last Sunday that it was no fluke, when they defeated West Berbice Super Kings by 26 runs to take the Berbice Cricket Board/Universal DVD first division T20 Championship at the Albion Community Centre ground.

This was after they witnessed hosts Albion Cricket Club defeat RHTGG by eight wickets in their low-scoring third place encounter earlier in the day.

Berbice all-rounder Devon Clements, who scored an unbeaten 56 to prop Bermine’s innings and former Guyana Under-15 fast bowler Nial Smith, who produced a telling spell that saw him take 4 for 21 to halt a rampant and dangerous-looking West Berbice batting lineup, were the catalyst for Bermine’s win.

Winning the toss and opting to take first strike in hazy conditions, Bermine lost their skipper and Berbice’s opening batsman Anthony D’Andrade (7), to the wily Keith Fraser, followed by Shemroy Barrington (1), who was clean-bowled by national fast bowler Keon Joseph, to be 13 for 2.

Clements joined Joemal La Fleur and together they negotiated the West Berbice pace attack well enough to post 68 from 10.3 overs, before La Fleur fell for 20, followed quickly by Romario Shepherd to leave Bermine on 89 for 4.

Clements found a useful ally in Keion DeJesus with whom he added a valuable 34 for the fifth wicket that helped Bermine post a respectable 138 for 6 in their 20 overs with Clements hitting three fours in his unbeaten innings while DeJesus made 23. Joseph was West Berbice Super Kings’ best bowler with 2 for 31.

West Berbice started their run-chase well, but lost former Guyana Under-19 batsman Sherwin McPherson to La Fleur for 6, at 14 for 1 after 2.3 overs.

Arthley Bailey joined Rafael Estriado and together they made things look grim for Bermine, adding 39 for the second wicket from 4.3 overs, before Smith put a halt to the proceedings by having Bailey caught for 8, at 53 for 2 in 7 overs.

After that, Clements, who had taken early punishment, had Andrew Dutchin caught for 1 and then Smith struck twice before Clements had the dangerous Estriado caught for a well-played 42 (5×4, 1×6), leaving West Berbice in shambles at 64 for 6 after being 53 for 1.

Things did not improve much for them as Smith and Clements each picked up one more and former Demerara left-arm spinner Damien Vantull claimed a victim of his own to reduce West Berbice Super Kings to 83 for 9 off 14.1 overs.

After that, former Guyana Under-15 batsman, Quacy McPherson who was inexplicably asked to bat at number 8, showed the earlier batsmen what had to be done but the required rate was too much and West Berbice folded for 112 in 19 overs, with McPherson still there on an unbeaten 27.

Clements who was later adjudged Man-of-the-Match, ended with 3 for 29 and Vantull 2 for 25, to support the early efforts of Smith.

In the third place encounter, RHTGG, who were graced with the presence of West Indies middle-order batsman Assad Fudadin in their lineup, were limited to 102 for 9 from their 20 overs – Clinton Pestano 28 and Fudadin 17 being their principal scorers.

For Albion, off-spinner Veerapen Permaul, took 3 for 11 and former Guyana T20 batting star Jonathan Foo 2 for 25 with his leg-spin, following which the home team replied with 106 for 2 from 18.5 overs, thanks to Kandasammy Surujnarine’s unbeaten 58 (6×4, 1×6).

At the presentation ceremony which followed the final, Managing Director of Universal DVD Club and Universal Solutions, Vickram Seubarran, was high in praise for the level of this year’s competition and congratulated Bermine for emerging as champions, adding that next year’s competition will be even better.

D’Andrade was presented with the Universal DVD Club winning trophy and $200 000 while his opposite number Krishendat Ramoo uplifted the runners-up trophy and $100 000 – a record for prize money in the history of Berbice first division club cricket.

Clements received $10 000 and a trophy for his Man-of-the-Match efforts while Albion received $25 000 and a trophy and RHTGG $10 000 and a trophy.

Apart from the cricket, there was on-field entertainment from X-Factor Dance Troupe, while Slow Fire Sounds entertained the spectators during the intervals.