Bermine, Young Warriors Advance

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

2012 Carib Beer Division 1 T20

30 Jan 2013 - The 2012 Carib Beer first-division T20 cricket competition, which was postponed last year due to rain, resumed recently with Young Warriors and Bermine both winning their final Zone B matches to end as winners and runners-up respectively thus earning their places in the play-offs of the competition.

At Edinburg: Young Warriors defeated Edinburg by 21 runs. Young Warriors won the toss batted first. Shimron Hetmyer was bowled by off-spinner Mark Sampson for 9 with the score at 9 for 1 and this brought together Richard Ramdeen and Gajanand Singh and they proceeded to put on 99 in 12.4 overs to spearhead Young Warriors to 165 for 5 in their 20 overs.

Singh slammed 85 off 55 balls (8×4 2×6), while Ramdeen hit 54 off 48 balls (2×4 2×6).

When Edinburg replied, they were kept in the hunt by a fine innings from 18-year-old, Jamal Henry, who hit 65 (5×4 1×6) off 70 balls. Only Shafeek Khan with 25 lent support as Edinburg were restricted to 144 for 7 in their 20 overs.

Gajanand Singh bowling off-spin took 4 for 19 from 3 overs, while off-spinner Balram Samaroo took 2 for 26 from 4 overs.

Over at the Cumberland Ground, Bermine arrested Police by 8 wickets with 4.5 overs to spare.

Police won the toss, batted and were bowled out for 105 in exactly 20 overs; Richard Scott led with 20, while Martin Singh and Philbert Willingburg made 18 each.

Bowling for Bermine former Guyana off-spinner Steven Latcha took 3 for 17 from 4 overs, while left-arm spinner Eugene LaFleur took 2 for 20 from 4 overs.

In Bermine’s reply, Joemal LaFleur and Berbice batsman Anthony D’Andrade put on 57 for the first wicket in just 6 overs before the latter fell for 14. The two LaFleurs added another 31 in 3 overs, following the demise Eugene for 10, Joemal went on to guide Bermine home at 106 for 2 in 12.5 overs, he ended on 68* (8×4 2×6).