Bissoon Singh Re-elected President

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

Incumbent Demerara Cricket Board (DCB) President Bissoondyal Singh was unanimously re-elected to the board’s top position at yesterday’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) and elections.

Seated from (left to right) DCB Vice President Roger Harper, President Bissoondyal Singh (centre) and Pretipaul Jaigobin. Standing behind are other members of the new executive of the DCB

The AGM and elections was hosted at the Lusignan Community Centre to elect members to serve for the 2010/ 2011 period. Charles Ramson Jr performed the duties of returning officer. After being declared the winner Singh, who looked more relieved than elated, was greeted with loud cheers from his supporters.

Former West Indies off-spinner Roger Harper was elected vice-president, while treasurer of the DCB, Pretipaul Jaigobin was voted second vice-president. Other delegates elected include Edward Richmond (treasurer), Nigel Bisoo (assistant treasurer), Davteerth Anandjit (secretary), and Samaroo Jailall (assistant secretary).

Meanwhile, Manoj Narayan, Shawn Massiah and Neil Barry were appointed marketing manager, Competitions Committee chairman and public relations officer respectively. Claude Raphael and Ronald Williams were the two trustees appointed.

In his acceptance speech for his new term, Singh thanked everyone who served in the previous administration for their contributions.

We have already started change at the executive level with new faces joining the experienced ones to help move Demerara and Guyana’s cricket forward. And at a time when our cricket is not at its strongest there will be more changes with personnel and the structure of Guyana’s cricket,” Singh stated. Singh encouraged his new executives to hold their heads together in an effort to move Demerara and Guyana’s cricket forward.

Singh, along with Ramsay Ali and Bishwa Panday, is also vying for the Guyana Cricket Board’s top position at next Sunday elections.