D'Edward, Rose Hall Town In Final

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

The Albion Community Centre Ground will be a hive of activity this Sunday when the final of the inaugural Neal & Massy Intermediate / Berbice Cricket Board 50-overs tournament is played.

Rose Hall Town Pepsi is set to clash with surprise finalists D’Edward in a game that is anticipated to be very close since D’Edward have proven to be no easy opponent, developing a reputation as the ‘Silent Killer’, recording victories over powerhouses Albion and Young Warriors.

Rose Hall Town Pepsi is seeking to add another championship trophy to their already large collection and would be spearheaded in the batting department by Captain Ravi Narine, Delbert Hicks, Dominique Rikhi, Jason Sinclair, Eon Hooper, Askay Homraj, Devin Baldeo and the experienced Michael Hicks.

Pacers Jamal Jarvis and Ingram Dey would share the new ball for Rose Hall Town but the bulk of the bowling is expected to be done by off spinners Hooper, Baldeo, Rikhi, Arif Chan and leg spinner Ravi Narine.

D’Edward’s strength has been their ability to chase large scores with powerful hitting and on the large Albion ground they will depend on skipper Jaipaul Heeralall, Keith Fraser, Eon Abel, Romesh Boodram, Barratt Persaud, Roshan Gafoor, Heralall Bridgelall and Govindraraj Khan.

Their bowling would be led by medium pacers Keith Fraser and Navindra Rampersaud with support from spinners Romesh Boodram, Derick Narine Lalsa Jnr, Eon Abel and Roshan Gafoor.

The Winning Team will pocket $60,000 and the beautiful Neal & Massy trophy, the runner up of $30,000 and the player-of-the-final $6,000.

Senior Management officials of Neal & Massy Group of Companies will meet the teams before the final and assist with the presentation of prizes. The match starts at 09:30hrs.

Teams – Rose Hall Town Pepsi: Dominique Rikhi, Devin Baldeo, Jason Sinclair, Delbert Hicks, Askay Homraj, Michael Hicks, Eon Hooper, Arif Chan, Ravi Narine, Jamal Jarvis, Ingram Dey, Brandon Prashad, Daniel Lewis. Manager: Patrick Lewis, Coach: Michael Hyles Franco.

D’Edward: Romesh Boodram, Barratt Persaud, Roshan Gafoor, Heeralall Bridgelall, Jaipaul Heeralall, Givindraraj Khan, Lakeraj Sookra, Derick Junior Narine, Keith Fraser, Eon Abel, Navindra Rampersaud, Nashad Gafoor, Rakesh Ivan, Christian France and Derick Lalsa.