Deonarine: Berbice Cricketer of the Year

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

Guyana and West Indies all rounder Narsingh Deonarine of the Albion Cricket Club will receive the Berbice Cricketer of the Year Award on Sunday when the Berbice Cricket Board host its 3rd Annual Awards Ceremony in the compound of the New Amsterdam Technical Institute.

The event organised by the Special Events Committee of the Board would be historic since it would be aired live on NCN CH 15 in Berbice as the Board seeks to involve the general public in its activities. Financial director of the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company Mr. Yog Mahadeo would be the guest speaker while PRO of the Berbice Cricket Board Hilbert Foster will review the Board’s activities for 2009.

The Board’s President and Treasurer Keith Foster and Anil Beharry along with Regional Chairman Zulfikar Mustapha JP will be among the speakers on the programme. A total of seventeen awards will be handed out including Under-13, 15, 17, 19 and Under-23 Players of the year, Most Discipline Player, Most Improved player, Coach of the year and Umpire of the Year.

Albion Community Centre Cricket club has been named Team of the year after winning the National 40 overs Championship while the Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club will receive the Berbice Club of the Year award.

The Berbice Cricket Board would also present a special gift to each member of the Guyana and Barbados teams who would be involved in the Four Day Regional game at the Albion Community Centre ground during a Cocktail Reception which would be held in their honour immediately after the Awards Ceremony. Starting time is 19:00hrs.