DeSinco U-13 League Launched

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Guyana Times Staff

The inaugural Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) DeSinco Under-13 Cricket League Championship was officially launched yesterday in the DeSinco Trading building and is set to commence on August 14 at the Ghandi Youth Organisation (GYO) ground.

At the simple ceremony attended by the CEO of the company Frank DeAbreau, GCA president Roger Harper, and chairman of the Development Committee Neil Barry, it was disclosed that the primary purpose of the tournament was to identify young talent and nurture it to the Under-19 level. This venture between the two entities, according to the GCA president, is set to be a long-term partnership which will be done over a seven-year period only in the Georgetown area.

Harper stated that the association is delighted that DeSinco Trading has agreed to partner with them.

He went on to say, “There isn't a lot of glamour at this level because it is the foundation or the cornerstone where cricket begins. We would like to improve these young players’ skills and also help them to become better citizens.” The former West Indian all-rounder and coach added that they expect to do an outstanding job with the programme because the competition is about having all the players involved, so team work is going to be the key.

Meanwhile, DeAbreau, a stalwart in the development of sport throughout the country, also expressed his delight in being a partner and helping in the progress of young talents.

The tournament format has been completely altered to get every youth, age 9-12 who qualify, to play on the 11-member team involved.

The six teams involved are Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC), Demerara Cricket Club (DCC), Everest Cricket Club (ECC), GYO, Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) and Muslim Youth Organisation (MYO). Barry disclosed that all the clubs, except MSC and MYO, have their allotted players for the 18-match league and urged parents to enroll their children at those two venues during the week, after 16:00h.

The regulations set are as follows:

  • Each player on the fielding side, except the wicketkeeper, must bowl at least one over. Only five pairs are allowed to bat and each pair will change every five overs with unlimited dismissals.
  • Each dismissal, however, will result in 10 runs being deducted from the total. Each team will start with 200 runs and as they score, runs will be deducted from the 200 and the team with the least deductions will be declared the winner.
  • Other rules include: a 21-yard pitch; 4 ¾ ounce ball; 25 overs-a-side; two runs awarded for a wide delivery or no-ball, which will not be bowled back.

Matches will be played at the GYO, MYO and Guyana National Industrial Corporation (GNIC) grounds throughout the tournament.