ECB Presidency Unchanged

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

Fizul Bacchus was returned unopposed as President of the Essequibo Cricket Board (ECB) in controversial fashion on Sunday when the body held its Biennial General Meeting and Elections at the Board’s hostel at Anna Regina on the Essequibo Coast.

However, Bacchus’s challenger Prince Holder is questioning the credibility in the manner Bacchus was re-elected.

Holder is contending that the elections were not held according to the ECB constitution, which states that before an election is held, each Area Committee must complete their respective internal elections. However, in this case only three of the eight Area Committees had their internal elections, according to Holder.

Bacchus’s victory was well planned out,” Holder pointed out.

He is also questioning the credibility of the Returning Officer Anand Sanasie, Secretary of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB).

Sanasie over the years has constantly been interfering in the internal affairs of the Essequibo Cricket Board, thereby creating much confusion and disharmony, and therefore he should not have been the Returning Officer,” Holder opined.

Holder further indicated that an official complaint will be made to Cricket Ombudsman, Dr Winston McGowan, regarding the issues surrounding the ECB elections.

On Saturday, Dr McGowan told Guyana Times Sport that he has no problem with the ECB going ahead with its elections, but indicated that should there be any objections coming out from the process, he will intervene thereafter.

Dr McGowan is responsible for calling the elections of the Demerara Cricket Board (DCB), Essequibo Cricket Board (ECB) and Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) in accordance with the provisions of the Cricket Administration Law.

This Law was assented to by President Donald Ramotar in August after the Cricket Administration Bill was enacted in Parliament on June 20.


Meanwhile, prior to the elections, Treasurer of the North Essequibo Cricket Committee Hakim Khan had accused GCB President DruBahadur and Sanasie of verbally assaulting him. According to Khan the assault came after Sanasie accused him of writing a Letter to the Editor, regarding the ECB elections.

As soon I walked in Sanasie began to verbally abuse me,” Khan told Guyana Times Sport. Further, Khan stated that DruBahadur then joined Sanasie and he too continued the assault. Khan said the attack is an extremely irresponsible move and an ugly signal for the game in Essequibo.


The ECB consists of the Bartica, Wakenaam, Leguan, Pomeroon, East Bank, North, South and Central Essequibo Cricket Committees.

Wakenaam school teacher Totaram Ramnarine was elected Vice President unopposed, while Aotto Christiani was returned as Honorary Secretary, also unopposed. Andy Ramnarine of South Essequibo was elected Assistant Secretary unopposed.

Viren Chintamani of Leguan will serve as the Honorary Treasurer, while former GCB Vice President Alvin Johnson of East Bank Essequibo was elected as his Assistant.

The other positions, all unopposed, were won by Pomeroon’s Verna D’Aguiar (Competitions Chairperson), Nazeer Mohamed of Wakenaam (Public Relations Committee) and Anthony Murray of Bartica, who returned as Marketing Manager.

Stacy Williams and Shastri Mangal were elected as the Board’s Trustees and Travis Simon was elected as the Auditor.