Enmore Are GT&T KO Champs

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Avenash Ramzan

Experience and youth combined on Sunday to spur Enmore Community Centre Cricket Club (ECCCC) to victory over Fairfield Sports Club and with it the title of champions of the inaugural Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GT&T) sponsored 35-over cricket competition at the Enmore Community Centre ground.

GT&T representative, Donita Amsterdam (standing extreme right), strikes a pose with members of the ECCCC team shortly after they collected the trophies and cash prize (Photo: Avenash Ramzan)

A responsible knock from former national wicketkeeper/batsman Sheik Mohamed was followed by a destructive spell of spin bowling from Yuvraj Dyal as ECCCC coasted to a comprehensive 83-run win, much to the delight of a large and partisan home crowd.

The match was reduced to 30 overs per side after early morning showers prevented a prompt start, and immediately upon winning the toss, Fairfield skipper Richard Chatura inserted ECCCC to take first strike with the hope of exploiting whatever moisture there was.

However, his decision backfired as the home side rattled up an imposing 177-5, a total built on solid contributions from the top and middle order.

The 49-year-old Mohamed, who played 19 First-Class and 14 List A games for Guyana between 1987 and 1999, anchored the innings with a superb 54 not out, an innings that included five sweetly timed boundaries.

The left-hander, who batted at number three, received solid support from skipper and opener Bheemraj Ramkellawan, who made 31 (1×4, 1×6), and national First-Class player Amir Khan, who chipped in with 34 (2x4s).

Chatura was the pick of the bowlers with 2-24 from six overs for Fairfield, whose batsmen struggled to put up a fight during the run-chase, being dismissed for a paltry 94 from 28.1 overs.

It was a spineless batting display in the face of some quality bowling led by off-spinner Dyal, who ripped through the middle-order to finish with splendid figures of 4-19 from six testing overs.

Sixteen-year-old left-arm seamer Gavin Moriah had started the collapse of Fairfield’s batting line-up, claiming two early wickets to end with 2-21 from six overs. Nandram Ganesh completed the rout by claiming 2-8 from 2.1 overs. Chatura top-scored with 18, while Mohan Bissoon made 17 for Fairfield.

At the presentation ceremony which followed the final, ECCCC collected the winner’s trophy and $30,000 cash, while Fairfield had to settle for a trophy and $20,000.

Mohamed was adjudged Man-of-the-Match and best batsman of the final, while Dyal copped the best bowler prize. Former national all-rounder Dion Ferrier was voted the best batsman of the competition, after hitting 71 and 69 in his two innings for Duch Four, while Gobindram Hemraj copped the best bowler prize for his outstanding figures of 5-6 against Strathavon, including a hat-trick.

The knockout competition, which was organised by the recently resuscitated ECCCC, attracted eight teams, namely the host club, Fairfield, Mahaica, Duch Four, Cane Grove, Helena, Perseverance and Strathavon.