Evans Backs Berbice Titans

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

Coach of Universal DVD Berbice Titans, Hubern Evans has no doubt that his team will defend their Independence Twenty20 title on May 26 when the second edition of the competition is played at the Albion Sports Complex, Berbice.

I am confident that the team can defend their title, despite the lack of outdoor preparations, once everyone can play their role, we can successfully defend our title,” Evans told Guyana Times Sport via telephone on Thursday.

He said that while the current inclement weather has created some setbacks in terms of preparation, the players selected are doing individual training.

Well, right now the weather is not so kind to us, once the weather holds up we will commence training, What I know is the players selected are doing their personal training,” Evans said.

Asked to comment on the squad, the coach said “the squad is a balanced one which has a mixture of youth and experience”.

The Titans won the inaugural tournament last year, when they beat Hits and Jams Superstars by nine runs in a pulsating final.


Meanwhile, tournament coordinator Anil Beharry said that while preparation is in an advanced stage, sponsorship remains the main issue. He used the opportunity to appeal to corporate Guyana for support.

The logistical arrangements are already in place, but what is lacking is sponsorship,” Beharry said.

Meanwhile, four teams will be part of the tournament: BK International East Coast Jaguars, Universal DVD Berbice Titans, Karibee Rice Tigers and Georgetown Jaguars.

They will battle for over one million dollars in cash and prizes.

The tournament is being held to coincide with Guyana’s 47th independence anniversary.

The day’s activities will commence at 10:00h and tickets cost $500.

Universal DVD Berbice Titans team comprises: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Richard Ramdeen, Shimron Hetmeyer, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Assad Fudadin, Narsingh Deonarine, Gajanand Singh, Jonathan Foo, Rajiv Ivan, Delbert Hicks, Devindra Bishoo, Eon Hooper, Keon Joseph, Yogendra Harrinarine, and Clinton Pestano.