First Innings Points For 3 Teams

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Memorex/ Leslie Amsterdam U- 17 cricket…

Akshay Homraj

Three teams recorded first innings points in drawn encounters as action continued recently in the 2011 Memorex/ Leslie Amsterdam Memorial Under-17 cricket competition in Berbice. Rishi Persaud slammed 92 and his all-rounder Akshay Homraj made 82 to help No 70 Young Stars pile up a first innings total of 272-9 declared against Little Hulk of No 64.

The pair featured in a massive 158-run third wicket stand after Young Stars had slipped to 22-3. Homraj returned with the ball, taking 3-26 with his off-spin to help restrict Little Hulk to 161 in their first innings.

After the Tucber Park lads were dismissed for 164 in their first innings, Young Warriors’ opening batsman Suresh Dhanai held his side’s innings together with a well constructed 81 which, together with Berbice Under-17 batsman Shimron Hetmyer’s 43, saw Warriors taking first innings honours and ending on 220-9. In other highlights, medium-pacer Avishkar Sewkarran had a 9-wicket match haul for Bath. Below are the summarised scores from the games.

At No 70: No 70 Young Stars took first innings points from Little Hulk in their drawn match. No 70 Young Stars 272-9 declared (Rishi Persaud 92, Akshay Homraj 80, Sean Persaud 5-74, Devendra Budhoo 3-71) and 22-1; Little Hulk 161 (Sean Persaud 34, Devendra Budhoo 32, Ravi Narson 26, Rabindranauth Edwin 3-20, Akshay Homraj 3-26, Navindranauth Edwin 2-0, Arnold Outar 2-26).

At Cumberland: Young Warriors took first innings points from Tucber Park in their drawn match. Tucber Park 164 (Hakeem Hinds 34, Waqar McKenzie 26, Suresh Dhanai 3-24, Kassim Khan 3-40); Young Warriors 220-9 (Suresh Dhanai 81, Shimron Hetmyer 43, Roydel Phil 36, Waqar McKenzie 2-22).

At Bush Lot: Bath took first innings points from Bush Lot United in their drawn match. Bath 110 (Avishkar Sewcharran 33, Paul Deepnarine 6-22, Lakeram Saywack 3-13) and 64-3 declared (Balram Singh 2-20); Bush Lot United 85 (Paul Deepnarine 35, Avishkar Sewcharran 5-37, Anil Nandram 2-16) and 66-6 (Rafik Rahim 24, Avishkar Sewcharran 4-28, Zamar Khan 2-14).

Suresh Dhanai