Floodlights, Regal, Angels Winners

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Regal, Floodlight and Trophy Stall Angels emerged champions of the various categories of the Guyana Floodlight Softball Cricket Association (GFSCA) softball competition sponsored by the Trophy Stall.

Playing at the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) ground, Queenstown, Regal defeated West Coast side Wolf’s Warriors by 47 runs in the Open category, Floodlight prevailed by three wickets over Success in the Masters division, while Trophy Stall Angels outplayed Mike’s Wellwoman by eight wickets in the female competition.

In the Open final, Regal batted first and posted a commanding 226-4 from the allotted 20 overs with openers Ricardo Adams and Richard Latiff leading the scoring with 69 not out and 62 respectively.

Adams counted six fours and four sixes in his knock, while Latiff cleared the boundary six times and hit two fours. Safraz Esau chipped in with 35 (1×4, 3x6s). Vishnu Tammichandra claimed 2-32 for Wolf’s Warriors, who responded with 179 in 18.2 overs. Tammichandra scored 46 (5x6s), Riaz Karim made 36 (4x6s) and Azad Azeez 20 (2x6s). Roopesh Motilall snared 3-22 and Latiff 2-20.

In the Masters games, Floodlight got the better of Success by three wickets. Success took first strike and managed 124 all out in 20 overs. Dharmendra Mohabir topscored with 33; Clyde Canterbury captured 2-9 and Wayne Jones 2-25. Floodlight replied with 125-7 in 19.5 overs with Richard Persaud cracking 38, while Rickey Deonarine blasted 34 and Jones 24 not out. Mohabir picked up 3-20.

On the distaff side, Trophy Stall Angels outplayed Mike’s Wellwoman by eight wickets. Mike’s Wellwoman scored 73-7 in 10 overs taking first strike with Latoya Smith making 24. Trophy Stall responded with 74-2 in 9.2 overs. West Indies opener June Ogle scored 48 not out and Heema Singh an unbeaten 18.

Latiff was given the Man-of-the-Match and Most Valuable Player for his 256 runs and eight wickets in the Open category, while Wolf’s Warriors received a trophy and $50,000 and Regal a trophy and $100,000.

In the Masters division, Mohabir received the Man-of-the-Match prize and Jones the Most Valuable Player accolade. Success collected a trophy and $50,000 and Floodlight a trophy and $100,000.

In the female segment, Ogle pocketed the Player-of-the-Match prize, Kavita Yadram the best batter trophy and Smith the most outstanding bowler award. Mike’s Wellwoman received a trophy and $25,000 and Trophy Stall Angels a trophy and $50,000.