GCA 2010 Digicel T20 Competition

Date Published: 
Stabroek News
Floyd Christie

Digicel and GCA launch 20/20 competition

Digicel yesterday collaborated with the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) to launch the Digicel 20/20 Cricket competition at the company’s head office. The tournament will begin today at cricketing venues around Georgetown and will be contested by eight local teams. According to the GCA’s Public Relations Officer, Colin Alfred, speaking at a press conference held for the launching, the competition is aimed at developing the standard of cricket in Guyana and keeping 20/20 cricket fresh in the minds of Guyanese until the 20/20 World Cup begins.

GCA has lots of plans in terms of developing the standard of cricket in Guyana,” Alfred said. He stated that the country’s level of cricket was not as high as the standards set by Guyana’s past cricketers or what the GCA hoped and expected it would be. “The GCA has in mind developmental programmes to lift the standard to what is was before,” Alfred added. Alfred also stated that it was the hope that Digicel’s partnership with the GCA will be long lasting to assist with these programmes.

Digicel’s Public Relations Officer, Shonnet Moore said that Digicel was  enthusiastic about the upcoming 20/20 tournament. “From the moment we heard about the competition we decided to get on board because cricket is enjoyed by persons all across Guyana, so we’re very pleased to be apart of the competition,” Moore said.

The teams participating  in the competition will be divided into Zones A and B. Demerara Cricket Club (DCC), Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC), Transport Sports Club and Police Sports Club are in Zone A, while Zone B consists of Malteenoes Cricket Club, Everest Cricket Club, Guyana National Industrial Cooperation (GNIC) and the Guyana Defence Force (GDF). Matches in the preliminary round will be played from 2pm today and tomorrow at DCC, Police, Malteenoes and the GDF grounds.

The top two teams in each zone will advance to the semi-final round  on April 17 at 10am and 2pm respectively. The timing remains the same for the third place round and the final which will be played on April 24. The winning team will receive $150,000, while the teams placing second, third and fourth will receive $75,000, $45,000 and $30,000 respectively. Individual awards will also be presented to the Most Valuable Player, the highest scoring batsman and the best bowler.