GCB Names T20 Teams

Date Published: 
Stabroek News
Stabroek News Staff

Selectors of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) have named a male and a female team for the upcoming Regional Twenty/20 tournament in Barbados and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Women’s tournament in St. Vincent.

West Indies number three batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan will lead the national side while a female captain has not been named but West Indies wicketkeeper/batter Shemaine Campbelle is being considered. Additionally, the selectors have put seven male and five female cricketers on standby.

The selectors have also named Lennox Cush, Paul Wintz and Jonathan Foo in the team for the tournament that will be played in Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago from July 22-31. It was also noted that spinner Davanie Sewnarine was not named in the female team.

Male team: Ramnaresh Sarwan, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Christopher Barnwell, Travis Dowlin, Narsingh Deonarine, Derwin Christian, Lennox Cush, Royston Crandon, Devendra Bishoo, Esaun Crandon, Jonathan Foo, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs and Assad Fudadin.

Manager: Carl Moore and Ravindranauth Seeram- Coach

Standby: Anthony Bramble, Richard Ramdeen, Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Ravi Sarwan, Krishendat Ramoo and Zaheer Mohammed.

Female team: Shemaine Campbelle, Abena Parker, June Ogle-Thomas, Melanie Henry, Onika Wallerson, Zaheeda Samdally, Tremayne Smartt, Tracey Miller, Joanne Van Sertima, Erva Giddings, Subrina Munroe, Nikita Toney, Shinead Emerson and Prudence Williams.

Standby: Natasha Gangoo, Latoya Smith, Victoria Bacchus, Katyana Mentore and Plaffiana Millington.