GFSCA Softball Finals

Date Published: 

GFSCA Softball Finals

Regal XI are Open and Over-40 champs, Mike’s Wellwoman are female champs

3 Dec 2012 - Regal XI defeated Herstelling by 32 runs while their Over-40 counterparts defeated Floodlights by 46 runs, and Mike’s Wellwoman defeated Trophy Stall Angels in the Female final in the just-concluded Guyana Floodlight Softball Cricket Association Nationwide Tournament, at Everest.

In the Over-40 final, Regal made 139 for 8 in their allotted 20 overs. Troy Kippings top-scored with 35 while Mahendra Arjune and Jaga Bhoj supported with 24 and 22 respectively. Rahaman Khan took 2 for 16 for Floodlights. Floodlight XI were restricted to 93 in their reduced 17 overs because of time. Mahesh Chunilall bagged 5 for 17 and Tony Amerally took 3 for 27 for Regal.

In the Open category Regal batted first and made 144 for 8 in their allotted 15 overs. Richard Latiff top scored with 38, while Ricky Sargeant and Saheed Gittings supported with 19 and 17 respectively, for Herstelling. Tikaran Narine claimed 2 for 24 and Shameer Hussain 2 for 39 for Regal. Herstelling XI were then bowled out for 112 in 14.2 overs. Omesh Narine top scored with 35 as Premnauth Motilall captured 4 for 21 and Troy Kipping 3 for 9 for Regal.

In the Female Category, Trophy Stall batted first and made 70 for 4 in their allotted 10 overs. Erva Giddings 22 and Kavita Yadram 21 were the top scorers for Trophy Stall. Zola Telford took 2 for 10 for Wellwoman. Mike’s Wellwoman scraped home with 2 runs required in the final delivery, scoring 71 for 8 in 10 overs. Akeza Tompson 18, Onika Wallerson 13 and Haseena Mohamed 11 were the principal scorers for Wellwon, while J. Nero took 2 for 14 for Trophy Stall.

The winners were presented trophies and $100,000 each. The runners-up received trophies and $50,000. The Most Valuable Players, Younis Yusuf (Over 40), Richard Latiff (Male Open) and Shyan Goodluck (Female), each collected an award and $5,000. Mahese Chunilall, Premnauth Motilall and Kavita Yadram grabbed the Player-Of-The-Final awards and $5,000 each.

The competition was sponsored by Mikes Pharmacy, Survival Supermarket, Ramchand Auto Spares, Ariel Enterprise, Motor Trend, Petama Enterprise and Trophy Stall.

Motor Trend boss Jailall Deodass hands over winning trophy to Regal Senior skipper Mahendra Arjune.
Ramchand Ragbeer boss of Ramchand Auto Spares hards over winning trophy to Mike's Wellwoman captain Abina Parker.