Griffith Reappointed Chairman

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

Former national fast bowler Rayon Griffith was reappointed as Chairman of the National Senior selection panel when the Guyana Cricket Board held its first Executive meeting last Friday, to appoint committees, at the GCB boardroom. The other members of this committee are Adrian Amsterdam and Sheik Mohammed.

At the junior level Nazimul Drepaul was retained as Chairman of that panel, while Berbice Coach Julian Moore and Aotto Christiani are the two other members. The Guyana Cricket Board Constitution requires that this panel comprise of one selector from each of the three counties.

Vice President Alfred Mentore chairs the Cricket Development Committee. The other members are; Grantley Culbard, Elroy Stepheny, Randolph Latcha, Kenroy Joseph, Dr. Rishi Thakur, A representative from the Blind Cricket Association, Chairmen of the County Board’s CDC and a representative of the Guyana Cricket Umpires Council.

The Competitions Committee is made up of Colin Europe (Chairman), Veeren Chintamani (Secretary), a representative from the Guyana Cricket Umpires’ Council and two representatives each of the three county Boards.

The Marketing and Fund Raising Committee is chaired by Marketing Manager Rajendra Singh with the other members being Rawle Ferguson, Ramsey Alli and Paul Bonar.

Treasurer Mr. Anand Kalladeen heads the Finance Committee while the other members are Drubahadur, Anand Sanasie, Mrs. Savitri Persaud and Rajendra Singh.

The GCB Representatives to the WICB are President Drubahadur along with Vice President Alfred Mentore, while the Directors to WICB Inc. remains unchanged with Secretary Anand Sanasie and Treasurer Anand Kalladeen receiving unanimous support from the Executive Committee.

Mr. K A Juman Yassin (Chairman), Terry Holder and Steven Lewis were all retained on the Disciplinary Committee while the Reports Committee is comprised of Fizul Bacchus (Chairman), Anand Sanasie, Andy Ramnarine and Colin Europe (the Chairmen of Selectors will join this committee as necessary).

President Drubahadur heads the Umpires Committee while Colin Europe and a representative of the GCUC are the other members.

The Executives also reviewed a calendar of fixtures for the rest of the year that will be released shortly to all County Boards. All County Boards are asked to submit their list of cricket tournaments for update of the GCB approved cricket list.