Guyana Softball Cup 2 Finals

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Zaheer Mohamed

New York All Stars beat Trophy Stall by 8 wickets to take Open title

Savage XI are Masters champs

New York All Stars defeated Trophy Stall by 8 wickets to win the final of the Guyana Softball Cup 2, 20-over cricket competition Sunday evening at the Everest Cricket Club ground. New York All Stars won the toss and inserted Trophy Stall to bat in front of a large and colourful crowd.

Trophy Stall lost the in-form Wasim Haslim, run out for 7 at 17, and never really recovered. They were all out for 86 in 19 overs. Surajpaul Deosarran top scored with 27, while Mark Harold 15 was the only other batsman that reached double figures as extras contributed 21. Bobby Prahalad 2-14, Amit Moonsammy 2-13 and Asif Ally 2-13 were the main wicket takers for the visitors.

The All Stars in reply, despite losing the early wicket of Pooran Beria for 9, won the game in 12 overs finishing on 87-2. Vicky Subkaran was their leading run getter with 30, while Ally stroked an unbeaten 29.

Ally took the man of the match award, while Haslim with 172 runs and 6 wickets grabbed the most valuable player prize. Trophy Stall received $200,000 and a trophy, while New York All Stars received a trophy and $800,000.

In the Masters final, Savage XI got the better of President XI of New York by 57 runs. Savage XI took first strike and piled up 186-4 off their 20 overs. Ramo Malone hit ten fours in a top score of 82 not out, while Fazleem Mohamed made 35.

President XI in response could only manage 129-7 in 20 overs. Mike Balkaran was their main scorer with 33 as Fazal Kayume snared 2-12. Savage took home a trophy and $800,000, while President XI received a trophy and $200,000. Malone was given the awards for the man-of-the-match and the most valuable player.

Meanwhile, Savage XI overcame Bedi Masters by 15 runs in the second semi-final which was contested on Saturday evening at Everest.

Scores: Savage Masters 117-9 in 15 overs. (Ramo Malone 35, J. Persaud 2-19. Bedi Masters 102-5 in 15 overs. (Ishwar Persaud 37 no, J. Rambarran 3-10).

Trophy Stall won the female 10\10 competition after defeating Karibee Rice Strikers by 61 runs yesterday at the same venue. Scores: Trophy Stall 99-4 in 10 overs. (Nalinie Sumintra 42). Karibee Rice Strikers 38-7 in 10 overs.

In the semi-finals Karibee Rice Strikers beat 4 R Lioness by 7 wickets and Trophy Stall defeated Wellwoman in the super over after the game was tied. Scores: 4 R Lioness 85-1 in 10 overs. (Ruth George 40). Karibee Rice Strikers 86-3 in 9.2 overs. (Tessa Parks 25).

Wellwoman 100-6 in 10 overs, Trophy Stall 100-5 in 10 overs. In the super over Trophy Stall scored 11 and restricted Wellwoman for 2.

Trophy Stall received a trophy and $50,000, while Karibee Rice Strikers collected $25,000 and a trophy. Sumintra took home the prizes for being the player of the final and tournament respectively.

Medals were given to the players from each team that participated and the umpires.

Speaking at the presentation ceremony, Steve Narine, president of the Guyana Floodlight Softball Cricket Association thanked the crowd for their support and Everest Cricket Club.

The tournament was sponsored by Trophy Stall, Digicel, Clear Waters, Bel Air Texaco, Survival, Mike’s Pharmacy, Top Branz, Steve’s Jewellery, Rohan Auto Spares and Nauth Motor Spares.