Hadi's Renews GCA Sponsorship

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Hadi’s World Incorporated & City Mall on Friday evening renewed its sponsorship with the Georgetown Cricket Association for the 2013/2014 first division tournament.

The tournament was officially launched at the Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) pavilion where representatives of the sponsors, along with GCA executives, respective club members and the 2012/2013 defending champions attending.

The remainder of this year’s and 2014’s fixtures will be announced shortly. However, organisers are anticipating a start next weekend if there are available venues in the city.

Speaking at the ceremony, President of the GCA Roger expressed his gratitude to the sponsor for the continued support towards the development of cricket in Georgetown. Harper also reminded those present that “players must play the game in the right spirit, with pride and passion, representing the sponsor’s brand with dignity.”

The former West Indies all-rounder also thanked the players who participated in 2012/2013 tournament. He wished the respective winners of prizes last year to continue doing well.

Meanwhile, representative of the sponsor, Desmond Helwig stated that his company was extremely delighted and there was no hesitation to sponsor the upcoming leg of the tournament since the company has utmost respect for Harper. He described Harper as one of the most disciplined cricketing personalities he knows.

Chairman of the Competitions Committee, Shaun Massiah noted that the GCA was “grateful” for the sponsorship, adding that the tournament continues to do well for Georgetown.

Massiah also reminded the players to be au fait with the playing conditions since there will be sanctions for infringements.

Meanwhile, Demerara Cricket Club (DCC), were winners of the last edition of the competition with 136 points and collected $120,000 and the trophy while GCC collected $80,000 and the runners-up trophy; they had secured 132 points.

Third place team GNIC, received their trophy and $40,000 for their efforts. The other teams were presented with medals.

Players receiving awards for the last edition were: Rajendra Chandrika of Everest for being the batsman with the highest individual score (222 vs TSC), Shaheed Mohamed best bowler (7-43 vs GCC), Leon Johnson (GCC) bowler with the most wickets (22), Rajendra Chandrika batsman with the highest score (449), Devon Charles (GCC) best fielder, Johnson best all-rounder and MVP (291 runs and 22 wickets).