Jaikaran Is New GCC President

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Times Staff

Lionel Jaikaran was elected as the new president of the Georgetown Cricket Club at its Annual General Meeting on Monday at the Club’s pavilion.

In a straight fight for the presidency, Jaikaran defeated Harold Dhanraj by 48 votes to 30. The remaining positions on the executive committee were contested unopposed. Past president Paul Chan-A-Sue did not seek re-election, while Committee Member Bish Panday and honorary secretary Afzal Khan are no longer on the executive.

Jaikarran, in his acceptance speech, thanked the outgoing committee for their sterling contributions and was high in praise for the invaluable work Dhanraj had done for cricket development at the Club.

The new executive: Lionel Jaikaran - President, Ramsay Ali – Vice-president, Jameel Baksh - Honorary Secretary, Ramesh Seebarran - Treasurer, Club Captain - Phillip Fernandes, Committee Members: Deodat Singh, Glen Hanoman, and Eon Caesar.