Jamaica Defeat Guyana

Date Published: 

St George's, Grenada - At Progress Park, Stefanie Taylor missed her century by four runs but lifted Jamaica to their second victory, a 102 run win over Guyana.

Taylor cracked 14 fours to reach 94 runs in 102 balls before Jamaica were dismissed for 233 runs. Shemaine Campbelle was the top Guyana bowler with four for 34.

Guyana struggled particularly against the bowling of Taylor and Shanel Daley, as the chase petered out into a paltry 131 for nine in 50 overs. None of the batsmen really got into full gear or were able to repair the damage to the innings caused by Taylor with three for 13 and Daley two for 17.

Tremayne Smart 29, Shemaine Campbelle 24, and Latoya Smith 25, were the top scorers for Guyana who suffered their first defeat.


N Mc Lean LBW H Mohamed 16

J Morgan run out (MC Henry) 12

S Taylor* c M Henry b T Smartt 94

S Daley LBW E Giddings 23

C Nation run out (AP Thompson) 10

C Henry c E Giddings b S Campbelle 33

T Sanford+ LBW b S Campbelle 16

V Watts b H Mohamed 8

K Cohen b S Campbelle 0

R Outar not out 0

A Bookal b S Campbelle 0

Total: 233 All Out (49 Overs)

Extras: (2B, 1LB, 16WD, 2NB) 21

Fall of Wickets: 1-23, 2-67, 3-138, 4-160, 5-168, 6-220, 7-223, 8-231, 9-232, 10-233

Guyana Bowling: T Smartt 9-0-60-1, E Giddings 10-0-29-1, T Cort 1-0-10-0, J Vansertima 10-0-50-0, H Mohamed 10-1-47-2, S Campbelle 9-1-34-4


J Ogle* c J Morgan b S Taylor 16

L Smith run out (T Sanford) 25

M Henry+ b S Daley 0

S Campbelle c S Taylor b S Daley 24

K Mentore LBW S Taylor 0

A Thompson c N Mc Lean b A Bookal 1

T Smartt not out 29

H Mohamed c R Outar b V Watts 8

T Cort b S Taylor 1

E Giddings b R Outar 14

J Vansertima not out 0

Total: 131/9 (50 Overs)

Extras: (1LB, 12NB) 13

Fall of Wickets: 1-36, 2-36, 3-52, 4-52, 5-64, 6-87, 7-106, 8-111, 9-130

Jamaica Bowling: K Cohen 5-0-16-0, C Nation 5 1-18-0, V Watts 10-3-25-1, S Daley 10-5-17-2, A Bookal 7-0-21-1, S Taylor 8-3-12-3, R Outar 5-0-21-1

Result: Jamaica won by 131 runs

Toss: Jamaica won the toss and elected to bat

Umpires: R Willoughby & R Davis

Match Referee: K Alexander