Kevin Paul joins Warriors

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

Talented Everest Cricket Club fast bowler Kevin Paul has been confirmed as the fourth and final Under-19 player to join the Guyana Amazon Warriors squad for the second Limacol Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

This was confirmed on Saturday by Manager of the Guyana Amazon Warriors, Omar Khan.

Paul joins West Indies Under-19 opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Demerara left-arm fast bowler Daniel Basdeo and Essequibo all-rounder Kemo Paul as the Under-19 players in the squad.

This year, each franchise team consists of a squad of 19 players, comprising two pre-selected players - one West Indies Franchise Player (WIFP) and one International Franchise Player (IFP), selected by the franchise, as well as four Under-19 players from each playing franchise.

The Warriors have retained 10 players from last year’s edition and are among the favourites to lift the title this year.

The players retained are: Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez, New Zealander Martin Guptill, Trinidadians, off-spinner Sunil Narine, opening batsman Lendl Simmons and wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin, Jamaican Krishmar Santokie and Guyanese Christopher Barnwell, Steven Jacobs, Veerasammy Permaul and Trevon Griffith.

The formidable combination of these retained players forms the nucleus of the team, and with the retention of the core players, the Warriors will look forward to building a stronger, well-knit unit.

New Zealander Corey Anderson has been named as the Guyana Amazon Warriors’ International Franchise Player. The all-rounder, who caused a stir by hitting the fastest ODI hundred against West Indies, has replaced former Pakistan captain Mohammed Hafeez as the International Player.


The newcomers are Guyanese Leon Johnson, Ronsford Beaton, Robin Bacchus and Trinidad and Tobago fast-bowling all-rounder Navin Stewart. Missing from last year’s squad are: Ramnaresh Sarwan, Narsingh Deonarine, William Perkins, James Franklin and Keon Joseph.

This year’s tournament commences on July 11 and ends on August 17, with Guyana hosting three of the 30 matches to be played.

Jamaica’s Tallawahs won the inaugural tournament when they defeated the Guyana Amazon Warriors by seven wickets in the final in Trinidad and Tobago on August 24. They will defend their title against the St Lucia Zouks, Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel, Antigua Hawksbills, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Barbados Tridents.

The majority of the Warriors squad will assemble from July 2 for an encampment period under the watchful eyes of head coach Roger Harper and team mentor Curtly Ambrose.

Guyana Amazon Warriors comprises Sunil Narine, Mohammad Hafeez, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Navin Stewart, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson, Robin Bacchus, Corey Anderson, Trevon Griffith Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kemo Paul, Daniel Basdeo and Kevin Paul.