Lusignan SC Awards 2010

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Avenash Ramzan

West Indies Under- 16 batsman Brian Sattaur was voted Cricketer- of- the- Year on Tuesday evening when the Lusignan Sports Club held its annual awards ceremony in the auditorium of the facility. The ceremony was well attended by cricketers, executives of the club, East Coast and Demerara Cricket Boards officials, parents, umpires, representatives of the various sponsors, and well- wishers, as almost every member of club left with an award, from the cook right up to the top cricketer of the year.

Sattaur had a tremendous year as he became only the second player to represent Guyana at the Under- 15 and Under- 19 levels in the same year, emulating the feat of discarded West Indies batsman Narsingh Deonarine. He later earned a call-up to the West Indies Under-16 team that toured Australia in November this year. Sattaur was also adjudged the Club’s top Under-15 cricketer of 2010 and the leading national player of the year.

Gajanand Suknanan also copped three awards - MVP of the Development team, Best Bowler of the Development team, and Best Under-19 cricketer. The experienced Vishnu Ramjeet walked away with two awards - MVP of the first division team and Best Batsman of the First Division team, while former national Under-19 batsman Krishna Deosaran was named MVP of the Second Division team and Best Batsman ( T20). Also winning two awards were Harrinarine Hira (Best Batsman - Second Division/ Wicketkeeper-of-the-Year), and Rajendra Naikbarran (Top All-rounder of both the First and Second division teams).

The other awardees were Richard Ramnarine (Best Batsman - Development team), Narvan Singh (Best Bowler - First Division), Prakash Ganpat (Best Bowler - Second Division), Kumar Bishundyal (Most Disciplined Player), Surujpaul Deosaran (Top All-rounder - Development team), Jeffrey Ramgopaul (Best Batsman - Second Division B team), Vicky Ramessar (Best Bowler - Second Division B team), Chandrika Jeenarine (Top All-rounder - Second Division B team), Steve Ramdass (Best Under-17 cricketer), Delon Ross (Best Under-19 cricketer), Emran Khan (Best Bowler - T20 team), Azam Haniff (Top Allrounder - T20 team), Hardeo Sattaur (Coach-of-the-Year), Omadat Samaroo (Most Cricketer-of-the-Year Brian Sattaur trophy from Vishnu Ramjeet of Rockaway the presence of ECCB president Devoted Executive), and Balram Naikbarran (Cook-of-the-Year).

Members of T20, 40-over, and First Division teams were all presented with medals, while Guyana Times’ Avenash Ramzan was voted Journalist-of-the-Year for the second year in succession. The club also presented an award to national long-distance athlete Chavez Sital for his outstanding performance on the track this year. Sital resides in the neighbouring village of Good Hope.

President of the East Coast and Demerara Cricket Boards, and Vice-president of the Guyana Cricket Board, Bissoondyal Singh, who delivered the feature address, reflected on the achievements of the club since it was formed several decades ago. He lauded the executives for maintaining the good image of the club, both on and off the field dur ing 2010.

"The Club’s success on the field was also magnificent. I am impressed in recent times by the commitment, discipline, athleticism and determination that you have displayed in the field as is evident with all the awards tonight," Singh remarked.

He also revealed that the Club was a close contender for the Guyana Cricket Board’s Club-of-the-Year 2010 award, but was edged out by Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club.

President of the Club, Samaroo Jailall, said he was pleased with the progress made during the year and reserved special congratulations for the First Division team, whose only defeat this year came at the hands of New Line Cavaliers.

Jailall assured the gathering that his executive will continue to work strenuously in 2011 to strengthen the Club’s youth programme.

Among the businesses and individuals who assisted in making the ceremony possible were Sunshell Enterprise, Rockaway Auto Sales and Bicycle Store, Trophy Stall, Shameer Mohamed, Budget Superstore, Miracle Optical, Narvan Singh, Peppy’s Foods, Lusignan NDC, Steven Balroop, Teddy, Ramju General Store, Jagdeo General Store, Jagnarine Singh- Paul, Richard Neemraj, El Commandante Auto Sales, N& E Fishing Enterprise, Nideca Investments, Mangrove Restoration Project, Flakes Bar, Darshanand Persaud, Institute of Business Education, Stanley and Sons, East Coast Cricket Board, Azad Mohamed, Balram Deopaul, Samaroo Jailall, and Vicky Ramessar.