New GPC Buys Guyana CPL

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

With just over seven weeks to go until the inaugural Caribbean Premier League kicks off, CPL Limited has announced the signing of its first franchise agreement on behalf of Guyana.

The franchisee is well-known Guyanese businessman Dr Ranjisinghi “Bobby” Ramroop, owner of the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation INC (NEW GPC INC). The final agreement with Dr Ramroop was signed just on Monday in Guyana with CPL officials. This announcement comes hot on the heels of the recent selection of the new franchise based teams that took place on Wednesday, June 5 in Mobay.

Headquartered in Guyana, NEW GPC has been operating for 90 years and is the Caribbean’s oldest and largest pharmaceutical manufacturer of generic pharmaceuticals, over-the-counter cosmetics preparations and veterinary products of the highest quality. Dr Ramroop was very excited about what is to come as the new owner of the Guyana franchise.

The CPL is just what we needed in the Caribbean and in Guyana. This tournament and my companies’ investment will help to develop cricket talent and also stimulate economies across the region,” said Ramroop. “We are elated to be part of this inaugural year and look forward to the growth and development of CPL, which we believe will be the envy of the cricketing world.

Guyana’s franchise players are West Indian Sunil Narine and Pakistan player Mohammed Hafeez.  They are joined by players drafted on Wednesday – Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, James Franklin, Chris Barnwell, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, William Perkins, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine and Veerasammy Permaul.

We are thrilled to have Dr Ramroop and his group of companies as part of the CPL,” CPL Chief Executive Officer Damien O’Donohoe said.

It is clear that he understands our vision and what we want to achieve. We appreciate the enthusiasm he brings and we believe that Team Guyana will benefit greatly from his support.

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League starts on July 30 in Barbados and concludes on August 24 in Trinidad. The matches in Guyana take place July 31 and August 2 and 4.