Police Detain DCB Vice-President

Date Published: 

President of the East Bank Cricket Association (EBCA), Rohan Sarjoo was late Monday night arrested, in connection with the acid attack on the Treasurer of the Demerara Cricket Board (DCB), Pretipaul Jaigobin several months ago./p>

Sarjoo was detained around 9:30 PM when the meeting ended and he was taken to the Brickdam Police Station, DCB spokesman, Rovin Stanley told demerarawaves.com. Police have not linked him to the crime but have detained him as part of a probe. Jaigobin was doused with acid on May 25, 2010 after he had raised concerns about alleged financial irregularities in the Guyana Cricket Board.

Vice President of the DCB, Anand Sanasie, however, charged that motive was aimed at forcing Sarjoo not to attend the meeting. Police, however, allowed the EBCA President to participate in the meeting at which several decisions were taken. The meeting was held at the Guyana Cricket Board’s headquarters, Bourda. 

In keeping with Chief Justice, Ian Chang’s ruling, the DCB’s executive met and took several decisions in accordance with its constitution. Those included that the DCB’s Annual General Meeting must be held on January 22. There are conflicting accounts by the two factions of the DCB about where the AGM would be held and who would be the Returning Officer.

There are also two different versions about the number of delegates and which clubs they would be drawn from. The two factions are also at odds over whether or not the DCB President, Bissoodyal Singh used his casting vote. Sanassie said the AGM would be held at Wales Community Centre ground while Singh said two venues have been proposed- Lusignan Community Centre or Demerara Cricket Club.

The Sanassie faction says 14 delegates would be drawn each from the West Bank, East Bank, East Coast and Georgetown cricket associations. However, the Singh faction said it has documents and video-recordings to prove that the decision was taken that 16 delegates would come from the East Coast, 10 from the Georgetown Cricket Association, 10 from the East Bank Demerara Cricket Association and 11 from the West Demerara Cricket Association.