Regal Marches Into Finals

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Zaheer Mohamed

Centuries by Eric Thomas and Patrick Rooplall guided Regal into the over-40 and open final of the Rafman Ali softball tournament.

Regal defeated Sundeen Masters by 139 runs and Speed Boat by nine wickets in the semi-finals of the over-40 and open categories respectively at Everest Cricket Club yesterday.

In the over-40, Thomas slammed eight fours and nine sixes in an attacking unbeaten 107 and got support from Mahendra Arjune 42 (2x4, 5x6) and Eon Abel 34 (2x4, 4x6) as Regal piled up 261-5 off their allocation of 20 overs, batting first. Darmendra Mohabir claimed 3- 12.

Sundeen Masters were bowled out for 122 in 16.3 overs in reply. Mohabir scored 31; Troy Kippins snared 2-25, Arjune captured 2-27, Satro Seeraj 2-31 and Mahendra Hardyal 2-35.

Parika Defenders thumped Wellman by five wickets in the second semi-final.

Wellman took first strike and managed 142 all out in 20 overs. Greg De Franca scored 39 and Shawn Massiah 24. Azeem Mohamed picked up 3-31 and Mohamed Safie& 2-29. Parika Defenders responded with 143-5 in 17.5 overs. Kabesh Persaud led with 41, Devanand Kannan and Kenrick Persaud cracked 23 and 21 in that order.

In the open division, Rooplall stroked an undefeated 110 with five fours and thirteen sixes, while Chien Gittens smashed 44 (2x4, 5x6) as Regal successfully chased 176, ending on 177-1 in 11.4 overs.

Earlier Speed Boat batted first and scored 176-8 in 15 overs. Greg Singh was their leading batsman with 31 while Lennox Marks and Tyrone Drakes chipped in with 22 each. Gittens grabbed 3-34, Safraz Esau 2-22 and Mohamed Ayube 2-34.

Wolf's Warriors trounced Trophy Stall by 20 runs in their semi-final encounter. Wolf's Warriors rattled up 162-7 in 15 overs, batting first. Vishnu Tammechandra blasted 64 (2x4, 8x6) and Safraz Karim hit 42.

Kumar Bissoondyal bagged 3-23 and Sachin Singh 2-13. Trophy Stall were restricted for 142-9 in 15 overs in reply. Martin Dutchin top scored with 36 and Delroy Pereira made 28. Narine Bailey and Khaimraj Ramsundar picked up three wickets each.

Regal and Parika Defenders will clash in the over-40 final while Regal and Wolf's Warriors will battle in the open final on Sunday at Success ground, East Coast Demerara.