Regal, Mike’s Wellwoman Win

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

The Bakewell Bakery sponsored nationwide male and female softball cricket competitions came to an absorbing and exciting end yesterday at the Ministry of Education Ground, Carifesta Avenue, with the three finals.

Champion Teams All!!! The victorious Regal X1 and Masters teams celebrate following the presentation of the Bakewell Nationwide 15 and 25 overs competitions yesterday. At left is Bakewell Manager Rajin Ganga and Naeem Naseer Jr. (seated left).

On a sunny Sunday in the capital city with an equally warm and colourful crowd on hand including Proprietor of Bakewell Naeem Naseer along with General Manager Rajin Ganga, fans were treated to some riveting matches with the female final bringing the curtains down on what has been deemed successful tournaments.

Mike’s Wellwomen kept their cool to overturn Trophy Stall Angels in the Female Ten10 final by a comfortable 7 wickets, while Regal Seniors (Over-40) eased to the masters title over Flood Light Masters by 3-wickets with the Male Open title also going to Regal X1 who hammered Herstelling by 7-wickets.

Leading Mike’s Wellwomen to the championship trophy was Player-of-the-final Abena Parker whose undefeated 33 led them to victory as they overhauled Trophy Stall Angels’ 82-5 achieved in their 10 overs after being invited to take first strike.

Parker’s innings helped pace her teams’ response and was well supported by Onika Wallerson who made 15; Mike’s Wellwomen reaching 83-5 off 8.5 overs to win the top prize cash prize and trophy.

Capturing the Player-of-the-series award was Latoya Smith of the champion team, Smith snared a total of 17-wickets overall and received a cash prize and trophy for her efforts. Nicola Leacock took 2-13 for Mike’s Wellwomen in the Trophy Stall Angel’s innings of 82-5; Monica Seals led with 18 with 12 each from Roxanne De Monich and Captain June Ogle.

The victorious Mike’s Wellwoman team in a jubilant mood after receiving the winning trophy from Naeem Naseer Jr. following the conclusion of the final against Trophy Stall Angels. At left is Bakewell Manger Rajin Ganga.

In the Male Open final, Man-of-the-match Zulfiqar Alli slammed an unbeaten 55 to lead his team to a comfortable 7-wicket win over Herstelling. Batting first, the latter team which struggled in the initial overs rallied to post 114-9 in their 15-overs; Ricky Sergeant stroked 30 and Dennis Muir 22. Mohamed and Krishna Balgobin each took two wickets for Regal X1.

In response, Alli who retired hurt for a few overs due to a toe injury later returned to lead his side to a convincing win, Richard Latiff supported well with 14. For their victory, the winning team were presented with $75,000 and trophy by Naeem Naseer Jr. with the losers collecting $25,000 and a trophy. Better Hope’s David Singh walked away with the Player-of-the-series cash prize and trophy. He tallied 359 runs overall with a highest score of 140.

In the Masters final, Lance Adams once again showed his class with an attractive innings of 63 which was the main pillar in bringing victory to Regal who responded with 173-8 off 23.5 overs to Flood Light Masters’ 169-6 off their 25 overs.

Linden Lyght supported with21 in Regal’s run chase; Canterbury took 3-wickets for Flood Light Masters. When they batted, Lalta Gainda was the top scorer with 55 and Man-of-the-series Wayne Jones chipped in with 44; Mahase Chunilall grabbed 3-wickets for Regal. Jones accumulated 257 runs with a highest score of 102 during the tournament and also took 7 wickets.

Making the presentation of prizes to the winners and second placed teams was Naeem Naseer Jr.