Regal Unbeaten In Georgetown

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Kaieteur Staff

Regal XI triumphed over Mac Masters B by 71 runs in a low scoring affair to retain its unbeaten streak when play continued in the Regal Stationery & Computer Centre Over-35 Males 20/20 Cricket Competition last Sunday January. The tournament is organised by the Guyana Softball League in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport.

The victors called correctly and elected to bat. Lance Adams struck a resilient unbeaten 39 with support from Raymond Harper (20) to chalk up 129-7 when their overs expired. Bowling for Mac Masters B, Ronald Persaud kept the opposition in check with 2-24 from 5 overs. He was admirably supported by his sibling, Arjune, who contributed 2-35. When their turn came to at the crease, Mac Masters B were restrained by stiff bowling from Mahase Chunilall (4-15 from 5 overs) and Mahendra Arjune (3-4 from 4 overs) and were eventually routed for a paltry 58 in 18 overs. Fazal Ali (16) and Hakim Khan (15) were the only two batsmen to register double figures.

In the other encounter Mac Masters A registered an upset, defeating Success XI by 24 runs in another low-scoring affair. The former team batted first and rattled up 120 all out in 18 overs after Vinod Lall and Ricky Persaud shared the batting honours (29 apiece). Raymond Karim (2-14) and Jeff Ramnauth (2-34) led the bowling attack for Success XI. The latter team then took to the crease but discovered that runs were hard to come by in unfriendly batting conditions. With wickets falling regularly, they eventually folded for 96 despite a resilient partnership of 45 between Basdeo Mullah (24) and Vijay Baljit (20).

Danny Mohanram (3-4 off 5 overs) took the bowling honours for the winners with support from Ryan Singh (2-19 from his 5 overs).

The action resumes this weekend with more exciting matches.

Teams are competing for lucrative prizes including the $100,000 and trophy for the winners in the over 35 category. The runners up receive $50,000 and trophy. Other prizes include best batter of the tournament (trophy); best bowler (trophy) and the MVP (trophy). The zone winners will also receive a trophy while the Man of the match in the final receives a similar prize. A trophy also goes to the person that takes the best catch in the finals.

The winners in the female Category receive $50,000 and a trophy while the runners up receive $30,000 and a trophy. Trophies would also be awarded to the best batter of the tournament, best bowler of the tournament, the MVP, the zone winners, the woman of the match in the finals and the player that takes the best catch in the final.