Regal XI Win All Titles

Date Published: 
Kaieteur News
Zaheer Mohamed

Regal XI won the Male open Over-35 and the Female categories when the Georgetown Softball Cricket League/Regal Stationery and Computer Centre/Trophy Stall/Mike’s Copy Centre/Star Party Rentals and Salod Marketing Agency tournament concluded on Monday at the Everest Cricket Club Ground.

The played like through champions and reminded many of the famous horse ‘Affirm’ who won triple titles in the 70s namely the Belmont Stakes, Kentucky Derby and Peakness.

Playing in front of a fair size crowd, Regal Champs defeated Aroarima Rusal Warriors by 8 wickets in a 12 over Female affair.

The Warriors batted first, posting 76 before they were bowled out in 10 overs. Selena Alexander stroked 30 (1×4) while Tracy Hartman made 22 as Nalini Sumintra, Vanetta Chonoo and Monique Benn grabbed 2 wickets each. Regal then replied with 78-2 in 7 overs, skipper Chonoo top scoring with 32 and Natasha Daniels, 16.

In the Male Over-35 contest, Regal overpowered Park Rangers by 6 wickets. Park Rangers took first strike and posted 133-8 in their allotted 20 overs. Mark Fung 28 (2×4), Eon Abel 24 (3×4) and Ramjit Singh 15 were their main batters as Mahendra Arjune claimed 2-27.

Regal then responded with 134-4 in 19 overs. Eon Thomas led with 24 (2×4 1×6) while Anil Hardyal supported with 21 (1×4) and Mahendra Chunilall 20. Fung took 3-23 for the runner-up team.

Regal then overcame Wolf’s Warriors by 5 wickets in the open competition. Wolf Warriors took first strike and managed 91-8 off their allotted 12 overs. Ameer Nizamuddeen made 21 while Amrit Rai and Safraz Karim contributed 17 and 16 respectively.

Safraz Esau captured 2-6 and Troy Kippins 2-17. Esau then returned to stroke 30 (2×6) while Richard Latiff made 26 (1×4 1×6) as Regal won the game in 10.4 overs finishing on 92-5. Narine Bailey and Vishnu Tannechandra had 2 wickets apiece.

Female winners Regal Champs received $100,000 and a trophy while Aroarima Rusal Warriors collected $50,000 and a trophy. Chonoo was given the player-of-the-match prize. The Over-35 winners (Regal) took home $100,000 and a trophy while Park Rangers received the runner-up prize of $50,000 and a trophy.

Mahendra Chunilall and Anil Hardyal shared the man-of-the match title. Regal then collected $200,000 and a trophy while Wolf Warriors were given $100,000 and a trophy. Safraz Esau was adjudged the man-of-the-match.