RHTYSC is GCB Top Club

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Times Staff

The Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club on 15th December, 2010 received the Guyana Cricket Board’s Club-of-the-Year award at the Umana Yana. The award was the fourth of its kind for the Club after they won it in 2004, 2005 and 2009.

A press release from the RHTY & Sports Club stated that “ the entire executive and membership are delighted that our efforts have been recognised and would like to dedicate our 2010 Cricket Club-of-the-Year award to the official sponsors of our cricket teams – Farfan & Mendes Ltd, Bakewell, DDL Pepsi, Gizmos & Gadgets and metro Office and Computer Supplies.

The sponsorship of our different cricket teams has allowed the club to properly develop its players to be individuals who fully understand the importance of being role models and ambassadors. Our success on and off the cricket field is also theirs and we wish to reassure the five official sponsors that we cherish and appreciate their support and the Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club in the future would continue to be one of success and vision. We would also like to acknowledge the contribution of our numerous other sponsors, especially those who contribute directly to our cricket development programmes. These are GT& T Cellink, Guyana Beverage Company, Banks DIH Ltd, Mings Products Ltd, and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints,” the release stated.

Further, special mention must also be made of the support of the media, especially Kaieteur News, Guyana Chronicle, Guyana Times, Stabroek News, DTV-8, NCN and LRTVS CH10. On an individual basis, we would like to acknowledge the assistance of Franklyn Wilson, Sean Devers, Calvin Roberts, Avinash Ramzan, Rovindra Madholall, Rajiv Bisnauth, Claude David, Marlon Munroe, Donald Duff, Gregory Rambarran, Tamica Garnett, Alethea Grant and Michael Gordon for their co-operation in making sure that the general public is kept abreast of our work.

The entire membership has recommitted itself to greater success in 2011 and we are confident that at the end of next year we would make it a hat-trick of Club-of-the-Year awards. We look forward to working with every stakeholder in Guyana.

Berbice is the defending champions at the Under-15, Under-17, Under-19, Under-23 and Female levels. We are also confident that with players like Dominic Rikhi, Eon Hooper, Shemaine Campbelle, Shawn Pereira, Lloydel Lewis and Erva Giddings supporting the Crandon brothers, Assad Fudadin and Delbert Hicks, our success will continue. We would also like to congratulate Royston Crandon on his Domestic Cricketer-of-the-Year award and Shemaine Campbelle on being named Female Cricketer-of-the-Year."