RHTYSC Honours Head Teachers

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Ten outstanding head teachers from the Corentyne district were honoured on Monday by the cricket teams of the Rose Hall Town Youth & Sports Club (RHTY&SC) under its annual E-Network/ANSA McAL “Tribute to Head Teachers” programme.

According to a press release from the club, the teams hosted the programme as part of World Teachers Day that is usually observed on October 5.

The head teachers honoured were President of the Guyana Teachers Union Colin Bynoe, who is also head teacher of Port Mourant Secondary School, Nirmala Hussain of Corentyne Comprehensive High School, Barbara Hamilton of J.C. Chandisingh Secondary School, Marlyn Benjamin of Central Corentyne Secondary, Paul La Cruz of Lower Corentyne Secondary, Sandra Whyte of Rose Hall Town Nursery and Mrs Dean of Rose Hall Town Primary School.

According to release, Secretary/CEO of the RHTY&SC Hilbert Foster, hailed the head teachers as “pillars of the educational sector” surrounding Rose Hall. He also urged them to maintain their high standards of ensuring that all youths are educated properly.

He stated that the RHTY&SC was grateful to the awardees for the roles they played in nurturing the minds of all its members and for developing a culture of discipline and commitment. The long-serving secretary also expressed gratitude to Vishok Persaud of E-Network and Beverley Harper of ANSA McAL for their sponsorship of the event and pledged that the RHTY&SC and its cricket teams will continue to invest in educational programmes.

Meanwhile, Paul La Cruz expressed gratitude to the cricket teams of the RHTY&SC for honouring him and his colleagues and noted that it felt special to be honoured. Nirmala Hussain of Corentyne Comprehensive High School described the RHTY&SC as a unique organisation and hailed its outstanding contribution to schools in the Corentyne area.

Noting that it was a pleasure to work along with the RHTY&SC, Hussain stated that the club’s strict discipline structure produced national Under-19 players Shawn Pereira and Phaffiana Millington, who are students at her school.

The programme was organised by the RHT Pepsi Under-19 and Intermediate, Farfan & Mendes Under-15, Bakewell Under-17 and Second Division, Metro Female and Gizmos & Gadgets First Division and Under-21 Cricket teams. Each of the awardees received a special gift.