Sinclair Outstanding with Bat & Ball

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

The 2014 Tenelec Inc Under-15 cricket competition, organised by the Berbice Cricket Board, continued recently with Berbice Under-15 all-rounder Kevin Sinclair turning in a second consecutive outstanding all-round performance for Police in their match against Tucber Park.

Sinclair first batted through the Police first innings and remained unbeaten with 110 not out, which included seven fours, in a total of 148 with leg-spinner Brandon Stewart picking up 4-39 for Tucber Park.

When Tucber Park replied in their first innings, Sinclair came back with his off-spin and bowling right through to the close of play took 5-27, but with another Under-15 Inter-county batsman Steve Deonarine batting resolutely for 39 not out. Tucber Park ended the day on 98-6, holding out for a no-result.

Sinclair had scored 100 and taken 7-4 in Police’s previous match against Rose Hall Community Centre.

Meanwhile, Blairmont Community Centre middle-order batsman Adin Sheotayal scored 50 not out and bowling off-spin took 2-17 and 3-14 to help his team register an innings and 58-run victory over D’Edward.

Below are the summarised scores from the games.

At Vryman’s Erven in New Amsterdam, the match between Police and Tucber Park ended without a first innings decision. Police 148 all out (Kevin Sinclair 110*, Brandon Stewart 4-39, Naresh Chan 2-15, Dominique Durant 2-43) versus Tucber Park 98-6 (Steve Deonarine 39*, Kevin Sinclair 5-27).

At D’Edward, Blairmont Community Centre beat D’Edward by an innings and 58 runs. D’Edward 80 all out (Deninauth Persaud 45*, Azad Ishawk 2-10, Seon Glasgow Jnr 2-13, Adin Shoetayal 2-17) and 41 all out (Sachin Veerasammy 4-3, Javid Karem 3-11, Adin Shoetayal 3-14) versus Blairmont Community Centre 179-5 declared (Adin Shoetayal 50*, Seon Glasgow Jnr 49, Deshann Phillips 2-56).

At Bath, the match between D’Edward and Achiever ended in a draw with D’Edward taking first innings points. Achievers 72 all out (Divendra Sooklall 28, Deshwan Phillips 4-23, Hemraj Harrilall 2-10, Shamar Greenidge 2-16) versus D’Edward 83-3 (Deninauth Persaud 22*, Amit Budhu 20, Adrian Ramanian 2-27).