Solomon To Lead GTown U-19

Date Published: 
Guyana Chronicle
Calvin Roberts

DEFENDING champions Georgetown has named a strong 15-man squad which will be led by former national Under-17 skipper Dexter Solomon, to contest the Demerara Cricket Board (DCB)-organised and sponsored Under-19 Inter-association competition which commences today.

Former Guyana and West Indies Under-15 right-arm leg-spinner Amir Khan has been named Solomon’s deputy in a squad which also includes national Under-19 fast bowlers Seon Daniels and Andre Stoll, with the latter being in fine form with the bat of late for Police Sports Club (PSC).

The junior selection committee of the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) also selected hard-hitting opening batsman Shameer Fazal along with the technically correct Quincy Ovid Richardson and Alex Ramalho.

Former national Under-15 skipper Kwame Crosse, who, like Stoll, has been in form with the bat having recorded a century for Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) the venue for Georgetown’s first game against West Demerara in the Guyana Cricket Board nationwide first division competition, has been included among the 15.

Dayanand Roopnarine, Shaquille Williams, Raj Nanan, Omesh Dhanram, Safraz Esau and Christopher Surat complete the 15-man squad which will be managed by Orin Hutson and coached by former national fast bowler Roderick Lovell.

Neil Barry Jr, the son of GCA vice-president and former national middle order batsman Neil Barry, Carlos La Rose and Kevin Ogle all talented players, failed to get the selectors’ nod in the final 15-man squad, hence they, along with Jahron Byron, Raphael Singh and Mohan Ramdeen, have been placed on the standby list.

The full 15-man squad reads: Dexter Solomon (captain), Amir Khan, Shameer Fazal, Quincy Ovid-Richardson, Alex Ramalho, Clevon Hyman, Kwame Crosse, Dayanand Roopnarine, Raj Nanan, Shaquille Williams, Andre Stoll, Seon Daniels, Safraz Esau, Omesh Dhanram, Christopher Surat, Roderick Lovell (coach) and Orin Hutson (manager).

The six standby players are: Carlos La Rose who is a former national Under-15 skipper, Jahron Byron, Raphael Singh, Kevin Ogle, Neil Barry Jr and Mohan Ramdeen.

Following the completion of the DCB tournament which is being played on a knock-out basis, the squad will be chosen to represent Demerara in the GCB/GTM-sponsored Under-19 Inter-county three-day and limited overs competitions. Berbice are the defending champions.