Venues Will Be Ready - Organisers

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

The nationwide Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company’s (GT&T) 10/10 softball tournament is just four days away and, according to organisers, the venues identified for hosting the competition will be more than ready to deliver “captivating, contagious cricket”. Chairman of the GT&T 2011 10/10 Coordinating Committee, Carmachand Rambarran, informed this publication that all the venues have already been inspected by the tournament officials and works to have the venues slashed are ongoing.

We the organisers have already inspected all the venues and we are confident that each venue will be ready in time for Saturday. The slashing of the ground is ongoing and will be completed shortly," according to Rambarran. The competition will be played at 36 venues countrywide.

Unity Community Centre ground.

That includes Uitvlugt, Cornelia Ida, Zeeburg, Leonora Primary School, Wales Community Ground, Goed Fortuin Ground, Christiansburg, Bayrock, Diamond, Queens College, GNS, Everest, Cyril Potter, Better Hope, Success, Lusignan, Helena #2, Unity, Stratavon, Wakenaam Community Centre, Bartica Community Centre, Greenpark, Anna Regina, Walton Hall, Hibernia, El Dorado, Charity Community Centre, Albion Police Station Ground, Block 4, Kennard Memorial Ground, Scottsburg CC, Scott School Ground, Esplanade Ground, Cumberland Ground next to NDC, Bush Lot School Ground, and in Region nine all games will be played at the St. Ignatius Play Ground.

This year the tournament has attracted 1211 teams, of which 213 are female and 998 males. The inaugural tournament saw the participation of some 584 male teams. The tournament is being held in collaboration with the Culture, Youth and Sport Ministry and the Guyana Softball League, and is set to bowl off on February 12. A whopping $ 10 million in cash and prizes are up for grabs.

The tournament will be divided into and played within eighteen zones and will be played under the rule-book of the Guyana Softball League. This year the winning male team will receive $ 2 million, while the female team will receive $ 1million. In the inaugural tournament, Trophy Stall XI emerged champions over the Crabwood Creek Unstoppables by 51 runs, and walked away with the top prize of $1 million.