Warriors To Assemble July 2

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

As the second Limacol Caribbean Premier League (CPL) draws closer, members of the Guyana Amazon Warriors squad will assemble from July 2 for an encampment period under the watchful eyes of head coach Roger Harper and team mentor Curtly Ambrose.

With the franchise having a make-up of regional and international T20 stars, having all the players available for early encampment is not a luxury the territory can enjoy.

Manager of the Guyana Amazon Warriors, Omar Khan, is fully aware of this, and as such, his franchise, which has been bought by NEW GPC INC., has already started putting measures in place to ensure the squad is fully prepared for the July 11 start of the highly anticipated event.

We have already booked flights for most of the support staff and players to arrive in Guyana from the 30th June. Two of the international players will be joining the squad: Martin Guptill, who will arrive on July 1 and Mohammad Hafeez, who will join the squad on July 2 upon arriving the same day. All the local players as well as Navin Stuart will join the squad from the start,” Khan, the former West Indies team manager told this publication on Thursday.

He added, “The franchise as a whole sees it as critical that the players have a lengthy encampment period, so that they will be in tip- top shape, both physically and technically.


Meanwhile, Khan revealed that new West Indies captain Denesh Ramdin, who was part of the Warriors squad last year, will lead the Guyana Amazon Warriors after a unanimous decision was taken.

Under-19 Players

Khan further stated that West Indies under-19 opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Demerara left-arm fast bowler Daniel Basdeo and Essequibo all-rounder Kemo Paul will join the squad as the under-19 players. The other under-19 player will be selected shortly, according to Khan.

This year, each franchise team consists of a squad of 19 players, comprising two pre-selected players — one West Indies Franchise Player (WIFP) and one International Franchise Player- (IFP), selected by the franchise, as well as four under-19 players from each playing franchise.


Khan believes the squad selected is capable of facing the challenges ahead, adding that the squad is a well-balanced unit, comprising the maximum number of match-winners.

I think the squad is well balanced. I think it’s a good squad in terms [of] when you put it together, and it’s a squad capable of winning.

The former West Indies team manager also believes the team’s flexibility provided by the presence of batting and bowling all-rounders will be a major asset in the tournament, singling out Corey Anderson as the foremost asset to the team.


Further, according to Khan, the structure this year is different, since the team to win its respective league will automatically reach the final.

Unlike last year, we won our league but had to still play in the semi-final, so this time once you win the league you reach straight to the final,” Khan said.

The Warriors have retained 10 players from last year’s edition and have already become a force to be reckoned with.

The players retained are: Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez, New Zealander Martin Guptill, Trinidadians off-spinner Sunil Narine, opening batsman Lendl Simmons and wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin, Jamaican Krishmar Santokie and Guyanese Christopher Barnwell, Steven Jacobs, Veerasammy Permaul and Trevon Griffith.

The formidable combination of these retained players forms the nucleus of the team, and with the retention of the core players, the Warriors will look forward to building a stronger, well-knit unit.

New Zealander Corey Anderson has been named as the Guyana Amazon Warriors international franchise Player. The all – rounder, who caused a stir in the T20 world of international cricket, has replaced former Pakistan Captain Mohammed Hafeez as the International Player.


The newcomers are Guyanese Leon Johnson, Ronsford Beaton, Robin Bacchus and Trinidad and Tobago fast-bowling allrounder, Navin Stewart.


Missing from last year’s squad are: Ramnaresh Sarwan, Narsingh Deonarine, William Perkins, James Franklin and Keon Joseph.

This year’s tournament commences on July 11 and ends on August 17, with Guyana hosting three of the 30 matches to be played.

Jamaica’s Tallawahs won the inaugural tournament when they defeated the Guyana Amazon Warriors by seven wickets in the final in Trinidad and Tobago on August 24. They will defend their title against the St Lucia Zouks, Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel, Antigua Hawksbills, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Barbados Tridents.

Guyana Amazon Warriors comprises Sunil Narine, Mohammad Hafeez, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Navin Stewart, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson, Robin Bacchus, Corey Anderson and Trevon Griffith.