WICB Rejects IMC T20 Team

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Rajiv Bisnauth

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) yesterday rejected the Interim Management Committee’s (IMC) T20 team and will proceed with the team submitted by the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) for next month Caribbean T20 tournament.

The government-implemented IMC, through the last legally constituted senior selection panel of the GCB, selected a 14-member squad to represent Guyana in the upcoming competition. The squad was dispatched on Wednesday by Sport Minister Dr. Frank Anthony to WICB president Julian Hunte for its approval.

However, the WICB spokesman, Imran Khan, told Guyana Times Sport yesterday that the WICB did not invite the government of Guyana to provide a team. According to Khan, the WICB does not invite governments to provide teams for any regional tournament. Hence, the rightful authority for cricket in Guyana has provided the Guyana team which was accepted and approved by the regional governing body on Tuesday last to participate in the Caribbean T20 tournament.

The WICB continues to recognize the GCB as the only authorized body for cricket in Guyana, but the government here is contending that the GCB is not properly constituted since most of the members have resigned.

In addition, the government secured an injunction in the High Court back in February that prevents the executives of the GCB from performing duties on behalf of the board. According to the government, the GCB cannot act as the WICB agent until the Court matters are resolved and the GCB is properly constituted.

Meanwhile, some of the players who spoke with this publication yesterday said they can now breathe a sigh of relief after being informed that the GCB squad will be representing Guyana. The squad is currently encamped under the guidance of Coach Esaun Crandon and manager Alvin Johnson. Guyana is in Group A with defending championa Trinidad and Tobago, Canada and the Leeward Islands.

The Guyanese will open their campaign against the Leeward Islands on January 9 at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua. The squad reads: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Trevon Griffith, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Leon Johnson, Narsingh Deonarine, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Christopher Barnwell (vice-captain), Royston Crandon, Steven Jacobs, Derwin Christian (wicketkeeper), Jonathan Foo, Devendra Bishoo, Ronsford Beaton and Rajiv Ivan.