Windball In Georgetown, Region 3

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

The Ministry of Sport/National Sports Commission/Al Sport and Tour Promotions’ 15th annual Primary Schools’ windball championships continued at the National Park Tarmac and the Leonora Primary School ground recently with several teams recording wins.

The Lower and Central East Bank schools lined up on the National Park Tarmac moments before the start of yesterday’s action.

Below are the summarised scores from the games from the Georgetown Zone.

Success Elementary defeated Peter’s Hall by eight runs. Success Elementary 48-2 (Kennard Moonsammy 20, Daniel Benjamin 10) Peter’s Hall 40-7 (Luckhart Forde 13, Mark Deochand 12, K Moonsammy three wickets, Colson Richards two wickets).

Eccles defeated Grove by nine wickets. Grove 49-4 (Shazam Hassan 12, Damion Innis two wickets, Travis George two wickets) Eccles 50-1 (Emmanuel 14, Shaquane Sam 10).

Eccles females defeated Grove by 16 runs. Eccles 64-1 (Ava Austin 23, Sheline Ramcharan 16) Grove 48-5 (Ava Austin two wickets).

St Agnes defeated West Ruimveldt by 15 runs. St Anges 44-2 (Sheresa Roach 16, Deslyn Leitch 14) West Ruimveldt 29-8 (Sheressa Roach three wickets, Emika Punch two wickets).

Graham’s Hall defeated Stella Maris by 30 runs. Graham’s Hall 55-4 (Cassie Charles 12, Sasha Mangal 11) Stella Maris 25-6 (Mekeda Kennedy 10).

Enterprise defeated St Gabriel’s by nine wickets. St Gabriel’s 38-1 (Sasha Murray 10) Enterprise 39-1 (Shamia Carter 17). The Georgetown semi-finals of the Girls category will be contested on June 6 from 14:00h at the National Park with defending champions St Angela’s, Enterprise, Graham’s Hall and St Agnes being the top four teams from this zone.

Below are the summarised scored from the final of the Girls and Boys categories in West Coast zone (Region Three).

Uitvlugt defeated Den Amstel by ten wickets in the Girls final. Den Amstel 46-9; Uitvlugt 48-0 (Tiandi Smith 28, Shontel Greene 12).

In the Boys final, Leonora defeated Uitvlugt by nine wickets. Uitvlugt 39-7 (Gopikishan Ramsawack two wickets, Sachin Basdeo two wickets) Leonora 41-1 (Kemar Ferrier 11, Amir Singh 10).