Zeeburg Retains Title

Date Published: 
Guyana Times
Guyana Times Staff

Defending champions Zeeburg retained the annual Barakat Brothers/Odyssey Transport T20 cricket title with a resounding six-wicket victory over Leonora in the final on Independence Day (Monday) at the Meten-Meer-Zorg West Centre ground.

When action started at noon, Leonora won the toss and batted first, making 141-8 from the allotted 20 overs. Leonora found the going tough earlier on, crawling to 39-2 after 10 overs, despite a 30-ball 25 from opener Imtiaz Hack, after which rain stopped play for about three hours.

When the action restarted, Guyana Under-15 player Malcolm Hubbert entertained the fair-sized crowd with three fours and two sixes in a vital 41 off 34 balls. He was supported by Cornelius Dhanashrie (21 runs, 3x6s) and Wazim Singh (15*). Bowling for Zeeburg, Timur Mohamed and Amrit Jairam picked up 2-18 and 2-22 respectively.

In reply, Zeeburg slipped to 56-3 by the ninth over before skipper Mandalall Doodnarine smashed a belligerent 57 not out from just 23 balls to lead the victory charge. He hammered four sixes and six fours and was backed up by Yetest Dhanpaul, who made 34 (2x6s, 1×4). Zeeburg achieved victory at 147-4 in 14 overs.

Bowling for Leonora, Hemandra Kowlessar grabbed 2-16. For the victory, Zeeburg pocketed $200,000 and a trophy, while Leonora had to settle for the $75,000 runner-up incentive and a trophy.

Prior to the final, the semi-finals were played on Sunday with Zeeburg beating Uitvlugt Invaders by six wickets and Leonora winning on run-rate in a rain-affected game against Meten-Meer-Zorg.

In the first semi-final, Uitvlugt Invaders posted 101-8 from the allotted 15 overs with Richard Baker making 26, Kemraj Ramsundar (16) and Avinash Dhaniram (17), while Ganesh Narine picked up 2-15, Timur Mohamed 2-4 and Balbinder Shivpersaud 2-16.

Narine then hit 46 (3x4s, 1×6) and Yetesh Dhanpaul slammed 43 off 18 balls (4x6s, 3x4s) to lead Zeeburg into the final, reaching 107-5 in 13.4 overs. Harry Bissoondial was the leading bowler for Uitvlugt Invaders with 3-9 from three overs.

Semi-final two, which was also a 15-over affair, saw Meten-Meer Zorg making 115-9 with Zahir Haniff (33), Kevon Boodie (21) and Ricardo Adams (14) being the leading scorers.

Imtiaz Hack grabbed 3-15 for Leonora, who responded with 87-4 in 11 overs when bad light ended the game, at which point they were ahead on net run rate, and by virtue qualified for the final. Hack crowned a superb all-round performance, hitting an unbeaten 58, inclusive of four sixes and three boundaries.

At the presentation ceremony which followed, Zeeburg captain Mandalall Doodnarine was named Man-of-the-Match in the final; Avinash Dhaniram of Uitvlugt Invaders received a trophy for being the best emerging player; Kellawan Tulkan racked up the most runs in the competition and Ricardo Adams of Meten-Meer-Zorg was rewarded for scoring the fastest half-century in the competition (78 off 21 balls, including 10 sixes) against Vergenoegen.

The compeition was sponsored exclusively by Barakat Brothers/Odyssey Transport and organised by the West Demerara United Cricket Association.