Port Mourant Cricket Club

Berbice's most famous cricket club and town, Port Mourant produced outstanding Berbice, Guyana and West Indies cricketers like Basil Butcher, Alvin Kallicharran, Rohan Kanhai, Ivan Madray, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Joe Solomon and John Trim. The famous Etwaroo brothers Romain, Reginald and Tyrone were also members of the Port Mourant Cricket club.

Name: Port Mourant Cricket Club
Location: Port Mourant, Corentyne, Berbice
Ground: Port Mourant Ground

Port Mourant produced numerous captains of the Guyana youth team, including:

  • Radhay Solomon: Port Mourant – 1974
  • Deonarine Persaud: Port Mourant – 1981
  • Arjune Nandu: Port Mourant – 1991
  • Andre Percival: Port Mourant – 1992, 1993 & 1994 (Won regional title 3 times)
  • Mahendra Nagamootoo: Port Mourant – 1995 (Won regional title)
  • Vishal Nagamootoo: Port Mourant – 1996 (Won regional title)
  • Zamal Khan: Port Mourant – 2004

2013 Activities

The club held its Annual General Meeting and Elections for office bearers for the 2013/2014 term at the Port Mourant Community Centre, in February 2013. The following persons were elected.

Honorary president: Mustapha Ali
President: Gregory Persaud
Vice-president: Satynand Persaud
Secretary: Godwyn Allicock
Treasurer: Kelvin Seepersaud
Assistant Secretary/Treasurer: Omeshwar Sirikishun
Committee members: Vivkawand Baboolall, Motie Chatur, Krisendat Nandu, Lennard Persaud Homchand Pooran, Francis Sahadupal, Intikhab Sakoor.
Representatives on BCB: Godwyn Allicock, Omeshwar Sirikishun
Alternatives: Godfrey Persaud, Satynand Puran
Team manager: Godwyn Allicock

2013 Division 1 Universal DVD 20-overs:

  • (20 Apr at Port Mourant) Police beat Port Mourant by 7 wickets. Port Mourant 149-8 in 20 overs (H Chattergoon 57, J Ramsammy 46, L Andrews 4-20, A Sinclair 2-17). Police 150-3 in 18 overs (A Sinclair 78).

2012 Division 1 Carib Beer T20:

  • (3 Feb at Port Mourant) Zone C. Albion defeated Port Mourant by 36 runs and advanced to the semis. Albion 156-5 in 20 overs (J Foo 71, V Permaul 29, Veerapen Pemaul 26, D Bishoo 16*, Z Khan 2-22). Port Mourant 120-5 in 20 oves (H Chattergoon 33, Z Khan 30, B Persaud 20, Veerapen Permaul 2-24).

2012 Division 1 Telenec 50-overs:

  • (16 March at Cumberland) Young Warriors defeated Port Mourant by 124 runs and advanced to the final. Young Warriors 226 all out in 44.5 overs (K Ramdeen 62, F Hussain 53, B Samaroo 50). Port Mourant 102 all out (D Thakurdeen 23, K Ramdeen 3-34, K Khan 2-15).

Players include: Harrinarine Chattergoon, Zamal Khan, Boughnarine Persaud, Joshua Ramsammy, Devindra Thakurdeen

2010 Activities

ROSE Hall Town businessman Godfrey Persaud was elected club president at the Annual General Meeting on 24 February 2010 at the Port Mourant Cricket Club main pavilion. Persaud, who takes over from outgoing president Davendra Kallindra and was also the club president from 1999 to 2007.

2010 Officials
President: Godfrey Persaud (also president 1999 - 2007)
Vice-president: Faizul Mohammed
Secretary: Nandkumar Sewpersaud
Treasurer Kelvin Seepersuad
Asnt Secretary/Treasurer: Herman Stephen Latcha
Committee members: Rajendra Bolo, Crawl Gobin, Randolph Latcha, Tony Pooran, Jaipersaud Rawana