Queen's College

Name: Queen's College
Location: Camp Road, Thomas Lands, Georgetown, Guyana
Links: Queen's College Special Section (photos, articles, links, etc)

Queen's College (QC), 2000 - Present

(For the history of cricket at Queen's College before 2000, see the Queen's College Special Section.)

Cricket was being played at QC as early as 1854, when the school relocated from the present-day site of the Victori Law Courts to the present-day site of Bishop's High School. Evidence suggests that QC graduates were instrumental in the formation of the Georgetown Cricket Club a few years later, and the two institutions maintained very close ties until QC moved from the east end of Brickdam Road to its present site at Thomas Lands.

QC participated in the Case Cup (1st division), Chin Cup (Georgetown inter-school), Garnett Cup (2nd division), Jacob Cup (inter-collegiate), Northcote Cup (intermediate division), Parker Cup (1st division), Wight Cup (2nd division) and other competitions.

Five West Indies Test players were from QC. They include (in chronological order): Maurice Fernandes, Vibart Wight, Ken Wishart, Bruse Pairaudeau and Roger Harper. Two other former QC students, Edwin Moulder and Clarence Hunter, played for the West Indies before its Test-playing days.

First class Guyana players include (15): Edwin Moulder, Fred Abraham, John Veerasawmy, Clarence Hunter, Maurice Fernandes, Vibart Wight, Ken Wishart, Bruce Pairaudeau, Leroy Jackman, Aubrey Bishop, Arnold Gibbons, Roger Harper, Garfield Charles, Colwin Cort and Neil Barry. Other former QC students who played first class cricket include: Rupert Roopnaraine (Cambridge University) and Orin Gordon (Demerara).

National youth players include (14): Horton Dolphin, Keith Aaron, Errol Jackman, Mike Christophe, Sase Kowlessar, Colin Jackman, Roger Boxhill, Roger Harper, Orin Gordon, Garfield Charles, Roger Charles, Colwin Cort, Neil Barry and Sunil Rupee.

2012 Activities

In 2012 Queen's College was raising funds to construct a new pavilion at an estimated cost of US$70k on its play-field. The school received a donation of US$15k from the Ministry of Culture, Youth & Sports towards this endeavor.

2010 Activities

The 2009 inter-house cricket competition final was played on 25 March 2010 on QC ground. The winner, A House, received the Asheeki Asgarally Memorial Cricket Trophy.

2009 Activities

In February 2009 QC defeated Berbice High School (BHS) in the National Sports Commission (NSC)/Allied Arts Department 40-overs-a-side cricket match at the Providence Stadium. Scores: BHS 167 for 9 in 40 overs (Brandon Balkissoon 54, Kumar Brijlall 51, Feaz Mustapha 2-28). QC 168-5 in 39 overs (Sunil Rupee 57 not out, Feaz Mustapha 51).

The preliminary round of the 2009 inter-house cricket competition was played on the YMCA ground, across the street from QC, in September. Only four of the ten houses fielded teams. The others failed to show, completely or in insufficient numbers. A House defeated F House in the morning and H House defeated L House in the afternoon. The final, between A House and H House was scheduled for October 2009, but did not occur until March 2010.

QC cricketers in 2009 included: Neil Barry Jnr (captain), Carlyle Collins, Jimol Marks, Feaz Mustapha, Tejprakash Persaud, Javed Rasheed, Avion Rodrigues (wicketkeeper), and Sunil Rupee.

2007 Activities

Queen's College participated in the Georgetown Cricket Association Under-19 40-over competition.

2001 Activities

The Queen's College play-field was refurbished and used for the national Under-19 competition under the Guyana Cricket Board. Playing in Zone B under captain George Norton, QC beat Richard Ishmael Secondary School by 218 runs, Tutorial High School by 6 wickets and North Georgetown Secondary by a nail-biting 2 runs.

Boys and girls cricket teams participated in the All Star Inter-Schools Competition. The girls team, captained by Taijranie Rampersaud, emerged as champions. Several male cricketers played for clubs and they participated in trials for selection to the national Under-19 team. These included: Antonel Atwell, Patrick Joseph, George Norton and Charles Ramson.