Essequibo v Demerara LO (06 Oct 2010)

Guyana Chronicle
Match: Essequibo v Demerara LO (06 Oct 2010)
Competition: GCB 2010 El Dorado Men's Inter-County LO Competition
Format: 1 innings of 50 overs maximum per side
Venue: Wakenaam Community Centre
Toss: Essequibo, who chose to bat
Result: Demerara won by 7 wickets
Essequibo innings
Batsman How out Runs Balls 4s 6s
N Federicks   b Barnwell 18   2  
R Fredericks c Jacobs b Stoll 9   1  
N Bahadur c Chanderpaul b Khan 15      
D Heyliger c Chanderpaul b Barnwell 2      
R Adams c Jacobs b Khan 4      
B Shivamber   b Khan 6      
F Karim c Dowlin b Mohamed 0      
T Benn lbw b Khan 4   1  
A Adams c Barnwell b Mohamed 5   1  
R Moore not out   0      
R Beaton c Stoll b Khan 0      
Extras (4b 1lb 0nb 6w) 11      
Total all out in 30.2 overs 74      
Fall of wickets: 1-22, 2-39, 3-49, 4-49, 5-61, 6-61, 7-61, 8-74, 9-74, 10-74
Demerara bowling
Bowler O M R W
A Stoll 5 1 5 1
K Carmichael 6 1 23 0
S Jacobs 3 1 5 0
C Barnwell 5 1 15 2
Z Mohamed 4 1 9 2
A Khan 7.2 3 10 5
Demerara innings
Batsman How out Runs Balls 4s 6s
C Barnwell c Moore b Beaton
31    6  
S Chanderpaul c & b b A Adams
8    1  
S Jacobs c N Fredericks
b Moore
L Johnson not out   10
D Christian (wk) not out   10
   1  1
R Sarwan did not bat   -      
T Dowlin did not bat   -      
Z Mohamed did not bat   -      
A Stoll did not bat   -      
A Khan did not bat   -      
K Carmichael did not bat   -      
Extras (0b 1lb 1nb 8w) 10      
Total for 3 wickets in 11 overs
Fall of wickets: 1-41, 2-54, 3-69
Essequibo bowling
Bowler O M R W
T Benn 3 0 26 0
R Beaton 4
0 28 1
R Moore 3
0 21 1
A Adams 1 0 4 1


Source: Guyana Chronicle, 07 October 2010
Author: Calvin Roberts

DEBUTANT and national Under-19 leg spinner Amir Khan wrecked a hapless looking Essequibo batting lineup for a meagre 74 with his 5-10, as Demerara walked away with a 7-wicket victory and a place in the final of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)/El Dorado Inter-county limited overs tournament yesterday.

Earlier, Essequibo who went under to Berbice by eight wickets in their first round encounter, won the toss and opted to take first strike on an uneven Wakenaam Community Centre ground pitch and were shakily placed on 50-4 inside the 18th over of their innings, before they were bowled out for 74. In reply, Demerara reached 80 for the loss of three wickets off 11 overs, with Leon Johnson and Derwin Christian being their not out batsmen on 10 each against the bowling of Anthony Adams who ended with 1-4 for Essequibo.

When Essequibo batted, siblings Royan (09; 1x4) and Norman Fredericks added 22 from 8.3 overs, with both batsmen hitting Kellon Carmichael who got four wickets against Berbice, for boundaries before left arm swing bowler Andre Stoll (1-5) had the former caught by Steven Jacobs at long on. Essequibo lost three quick wickets after, including that of Norman Fredericks who topscored with 18 off 41 deliveries with two fours, before he was bowled by Christopher Barnwell (2-15) when he went for an expansive drive and lost his off stump.

Navin Bahadur (15) and Dillon Heyliger (02) were both dismissed in the space of three deliveries, courtesy of catches taken by Shivnarine Chanderpaul off Khan and Barnwell respectively, which left Essequibo on 50-4 in the 20th over. Ricardo Adams (04) followed shortly after, caught by Jacobs on the deep midwicket boundary after attempting to hoist Khan over the ropes and when Travis Dowlin came around from mid wicket to take a catch offered by Faizal Karim (00) off Zaheer Mohammed (2-9) and Khan knocked back the off stump of Balchand Shivamber (06), Essequibo were 61-7 in the 22nd over.

National selectee Trevor Benn fought back with a sweetly timed four through the point area off Mohammed, while Anthony Adams also struck Mohammed through extra cover for four to push the score to 74-7 in the 28th over, before Adams was caught at leg slip by Barnwell two deliveries later. It was all over for the Cinderella County team, when both Benn and Ronsford Beaton were dismissed by Khan, who received support from Mohammed and Barnwell who took two wickets each for 9 and 15 runs respectively.

Demerara began their reply with Barnwell (31; 6x4) who was partnered by Chanderpaul, hitting both Benn and Beaton for boundaries within their first two overs, before he pulled a short delivery into the hands of Moore at mid wicket at 40-1 in the fourth over. Jacobs (11; 2x4) replaced Barnwell and was greeted with a short delivery from Beaton who as working up some pace off the wicket that set tongues wagging, while a single to point by Jacobs off Beaton realised Demerara’s 50 in the 6th over of their innings, before he was caught by Norwayne Fredericks at long off when he looked to hit Moore out the ground.

Leon Johnson, who was unbeaten on 10 replaced Jacobs and struck Moore back over his head for six, while a sedate looking Chanderpaul swept Anthony Adams to backward square for four before he pushed tentatively forward to the next delivery and offered the bowler a return catch which was taken gleefully. National wicketkeeper/batsman Derwin Christian (10*) ensured there were no more casualties for his team, when he struck Moore for a four and six back over his head to seal the win.

Essequibo made two changes from the team that played against Berbice, bringing in Navin Bahadur and Ricardo Adams for Jason Heyliger and Navishaul Pooran, while Khan replaced Rajendra Chandrika in the Demerara line up.

N. Fredericks b Barnwell 18
R. Fredericks c Jacobs b Stoll 09
N. Bahadur c Chanderpaul b Khan 15
D. Heyliger c Chanderpaul b Barnwell 02
R. Adams c Jacobs b Khan 04
B. Shivamber b Khan 06
F. Karim c Dowlin b Mohammed 00
T. Benn lbw Khan 04
A. Adams c Barnwell b Mohammed 05
R. Moore not out 00
R. Beaton c Stoll b Khan 00
Extras: (b-4, lb-1, w-6) 11
Total: for 10 wickets off 30.2 overs 74
Fall of wickets: 1-22, 2-39, 3-49, 4-49, 5-61, 6-61, 7-61, 8-74, 9-74, 10-74
Bowling: Stoll 5-1-5-1, Carmichael 6-1-23-0, Jacobs 3-1-5-0, Barnwell 5-1-15-2, Mohammed 4-1-9-2, Khan 7.2-3-10-5

C. Barnwell c Moore b Beaton 31
S. Chanderpaul c&b A. Adams 08
S. Jacobs c N. Fredericks b Moore 11
L. Johnson not out 10
D. Christian not out 10
Extras: ( lb-1, w-8, nb-1) 10
Total: for 3 wickets off 11 overs 80
Fall of wickets: 1-41, 2-54, 3-69
Bowling: Benn 3-0-26-0, Beaton 4—28-1, Moore 3-0-21-1, A. Adams 1-0-4-1