Guyana v Leewards U19 LO (27 Aug 2012)

Guyana Times
Competition West Indies Cricket Board Under-19 Tournament 2012
Venue Wildey, Barbados on 27 Aug 2012
Toss Guyana
Result Guyana won by 5 wickets
Points Guyana 4+, Leewards 0
Leewards Under 19 innings
Batsman How out Runs
D Webbe b Tyrell 5
D Hobson c Surajpaul b Pereira 46
S Tuitt b Tyrell 5
*A Saunders c Tyrell b Shepherd 3
A Hodge c Shepherd b Pereira 3
O Matthew c Motie-Kanhai b Pereira 11
D Baker c Ramdeen b Motie-Kanhai 3
+D Parris c wkp Hetmeyer b Shepherd 4
Colin Archibald not out 2
T Hanley c Motie-Kanhai b Shepherd 0
S Moore b Shepherd 0
Extras (w11, nb1) 12
TOTAL (all out, 28.5 overs) 94
Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-17, 3-45, 4-50, 5-78, 6-83, 7-87, 8-94, 9-94, 10-94.
Guyana Under-19 bowling
Bowler O M R W
Shepherd 6.5 0 17 4
Tyrell 6 1 30 2
Motie-Kanhai 8 1 19 1
Pereira 8 0 28 3
Guyana Under-19 innings
Batsman How out Runs

T Chanderpaul    

not out 29
+S Hetmeyer      c Hanley b Moore 28
C Hemraj      c Webbe b Archibald 0
B Sattaur      c Hobson b Archibald 5
M Ramdeen     c Hanley b Archibald 0
*S Pereira     c Webbe b Moore 12
R Adams      not out 7
Extras      (w11, nb5) 16
TOTAL     (5 wkts, 22.2 overs) 97
Did not bat: R Shepherd, M Tyrell, G Motie-Kanhai, S Surajpaul.
Fall of wickets: 1-42, 2-42, 3-56, 4-56, 5-90.
Leewards Under-19 bowling
Bowler O M R W
Archibald 6 1 32 3
Hanley 1 0 3 0
Moore 9 5 45 2
Baker 1 0 2 0
Hobson 3.2 0 15 0


Umpires: J Blades, C Taylor.

Report (Guyana Times)

WILDEY, Barbados – Leaders Guyana registered an easy five-wicket victory over Leeward Islands yesterday to inch even closer to the capture of the Regional Under-19 one-day Championship.

Set a modest target of 95 runs, Guyana got home off 22.2 overs with Tagenarine Chanderpaul finishing unbeaten on 29 while Shimron Hetmeyer scored 28. They shared an opening stand of 42 to lay the foundation for victory.

Earlier, the Leewards were routed for 94 off 28.5 overs after being sent in at the LIME Sports Club, with only opener Darren Hobson showing any enterprise with 48. Omari Matthews was the only other batsman to reach double figures with 11. Fast bowler Romario Shepherd destroyed the innings with 4 for 17 off 6.5 overs while captain and off-spinner Shawn Pereira captured 3 for 28 and pacer Mark Tyrell 2 for 30.

The Leewards lost their first wicket with the score on 5 when opener Duan Webbe was bowled by Tyrell for 5, looking to drive. Shawn Tuitt followed quickly at 17 for 2, bowled after Tyrell breached his defensive shot. Captain Akeem Saunders (3) put on 27 for the third wicket with Hobson before he was caught at second slip off Shepherd and Ashawn Hodge was taken by Shepherd at cover off Pereira for 3, as the Leewards slipped to 50 for 4 in quick time.

Matthews held up Guyana’s advance when he combined with Hobson to put on 28 for the fifth wicket. When he was caught at cover by Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai off Pereira for 11, the resistance ended. Hobson followed 5 runs later, taken at mid-wicket by Vijai Surajpaul off Pereira looking for a big hit. The right-handed Hobson faced 77 balls and struck 3 fours and a six.

In their turn at the crease, Guyana were put on course for victory by Chanderpaul and Hetmeyer before fast bowler Colin Archibald (3-32) caused a few anxious moments. Hetmeyer struck 4 fours and a six in a brisk innings off 19 balls before he was caught by Tristan Hanley at slip off fast bowler Shevon Moore who claimed 2 for 45.

The dangerous Chandrapaul Hemraj was caught at gully off Archibald without scoring as he shaped to drive, leaving Guyana on 42 for 2. Archibald then threatened to turn the game on its head when he removed Brian Sattaur and Mohan Ramdeen in successive deliveries as Guyana tumbled to 56 for 4. Sattaur was caught by Hobson at slip for 5 and Ramdeen was also held in the cordon by Hanley.

Chanderpaul, however, who faced 50 balls and counted 2 fours, combined with Shawn Pereira (12) to post 34 for the fifth wicket and avert danger.

Guyana will not feature in tomorrow’s final round of matches as they have drawn a bye.