Double Success for Demerara

Date Published: 



Guyana Times


Rajiv Bisnauth

After retaining the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) three-day title, Demerara comfortably lifted the one-day version of the tournament, whipping the President’s XI by six wickets on Sunday at the Georgetown Cricket Club ground.

Demerara first restricted the President’s XI to 148 in 43 overs and then overhauled the target, reaching 150 with seven balls to spare to lift the GCB trophy.

This year’s tournament was not sponsored by the Guyana and Trinidad Mutual Fire and Life Insurance Company (GTM). This is the first time in 37 years the company has not sponsored the tournament since it began in 1976.

This publication understands that the insurance company ended the partnership with the GCB due to the ongoing off-field conflict that has tarnished the sport over the past years and more so the charges of lack of accountability and transparency levelled against the GCB.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul collects the Man-of-the- Match trophy from Chairman of the junior selectors, Nazimul Drepaul.

The competition is of utmost importance to the GCB as it is being used by the junior selectors to pick the Guyana team for the West Indies Cricket Board’s (WICB) Regional Under-19 competition later this year.

Opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul hit a defiant, unbeaten 77 in Demerara’s reply, hitting back-to-back boundaries to seal victory.

Earlier, opener Sunil Singh provided the backbone in a mediocre President’s XI batting display, hitting four boundaries in 85 balls as he top-scored with a fluent 54. On a slow pitch, the President’s XI lost Ryan Shun (1) as early as the second over, leg before wicket to off-spinner Malcolm Hubbard.

Sunil Singh and Damian Waldron then orchestrated a recovery from the dodgy start with a second-wicket stand of 51 in 14.4 overs. Waldron (23) was then dismissed leg before wicket as he played across the line to a quicker delivery from Hubbard. Just 5.4 overs later, the President’s XI had slipped to 58-3 when Nick Ramsaroop (1) departed.

Ronaldo Mohamed (23) and Singh made up for the loss of Ramsaroop by mounting a mini-fightback, adding 40 runs with Singh bringing up his half-century in the process. However, when Mohamed (23) was dismissed, the President’s XI then lost the momentum, creating relentless pressure on the rest of the middle and lower-order batsmen. Mohamed, Singh and Avishkar Sewkarran (7) were dismissed in the space of twelve balls.

The other four batsmen, Vivian Albert (4), Yenkinie Favoratie (2), Michael Shalin (1) and Matthew Shivtahal (2) failed to last much longer, leaving Gavin Moriah unbeaten on 11. Spinners Malcolm Hubbard, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Steven Sankar and Cleon McEwan claiming two wickets apiece, while Keon Morris had (1-23).

Demerara’s run chase suffered a serious blow as the hosts lost the dangerous Brian Sattuar (7) in the third over. Sattaur wasn`t even patient enough to grind it out and once again showed his vulnerability towards keeping the ball on the turf, unlike his opening partner Chanderpaul, who showed a lot of temperament.

Chanderpaul anchored the pursuit after Sattaur’s dismissal, settling in nicely before blossoming with some glorious strokeplay. He and  team-mate Ronaldo Renee shared a match-winning second -wicket stand of 77, before Renee (28) was removed. Ramnarine Chatura (7) and Rudolph Singh (13) were the other batsman dismissed, before Chanderpaul and Kemol Savory (2) not out took them home safely.

Chanderpaul’s  innings lasted for 154 balls, inclusive of six boundaries. Damian Waldron, Gavin Moriah, Vivian Albert and Ryan Shun were the successful bowlers for the losing team with a wicket apiece.

A 20-man squad is expected to be announced sometime today, according to Chairman of the junior selectors Nazimul Drepaul.